SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Kitty No No

Viewed 5343 times
Posted by: PKPudlin
photo

 
 
About PKPudlin star
NC USA
Member since: 7/19/05
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/25/10 8:46 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
I have always shared my life with my 4-legged children, many of them of the feline persuasion. When my girls were babies, like many mothers I worried about kitty wanting to get in the crib, but I wanted a non-toxic solution that would work for everyone. Somewhere I read that spreading empty coat hangers on the unused part of the crib would keep the cat out. This worked very well. Mom was happy, baby was happy, kitty was happy.

My sewing space is a part of my office space in our tiny apartment, and many times I have projects-in-process spread out on the cutting table. Of course, kitty is very interested in supervising and 'helping' me along with these projects, and I can't always put things away when I reach a stopping point. So I do with my sewing projects what I did with my babies; I spread empty coat hangers over the fabric, scissors, pattern pieces etc. This way my project remains undisturbed until I can return to complete it.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
paulakiss said...
Thanks so much for the tip! My hubby and I will be trying for a baby soon and I've been concerned about our frisky kitties getting playful with new baby! I will definitely try this! Thanks again sweetie!
9/26/10 0:24 AM
ohsewnutty said...
Thanks so much! I have those sweet four legged babies too. Tried your suggestion tonight and "Trouble" jumped out of the way so fast that he scared to other ones too :) Just had to stop and say thanks because it was soooo funny and it worked.
9/26/10 0:30 AM
vasallese said...
Thank you, cause my cat loves to be right there at the sewing machine, with his paw at the needle. ANd when I am using my rotary cutter. Has cut in on my sewing.
9/26/10 10:33 AM
ladybegood said...
Thank you so much! Do any kind of coat hangers work?
9/26/10 1:43 PM
PKPudlin said...
I have had success with any hanger, but I imagine if you have a kitty who is rather recalcitrant, the wire ones will be more noxious than the plastic. That's just my 2-cents' worth, though. Good Luck!
9/26/10 4:54 PM
skooze48 said...
Couldn't time this tip better! I love my newest addition, who is by far the most inquisitive or loves to help me sew--I'm guessing the latter! Tonight when I put up my board, she came lurking & as soon as the fabric went down--she jumped off like their was a huge doberman waiting for her. I can't wait to see the present she brings me tomorrow for that trick:))) Skooze
9/29/10 4:39 AM
maryfrana said...
I'm going to do this today! I have a lot of "help" from my older kitty, who loves tissue and fabric together. He seems to have instructed the new kitty on the pleasures of sewing too. Just yesterday I found a pattern piece with parts missing!
10/2/10 10:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.