SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Medical tape for patterns

Viewed 6017 times
Posted by: SexiSadi
photo

 
 
About SexiSadi starstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 5/10/05
Reviews written: 134
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 19 people
tips added: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/2/10 11:09 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Web site/URL: photo
When making adjustments to my pattern paper (or when I more than likely tear a hugh hole in the tissue) I used to use regular roll tape to tape the hole or to adjust the pattern paper. For those of you who also do this, you know that you can't iron over the tape or it will just shrink am bubble.

Well, I found out that Johnson & Johnson paper medical tape works awfully well for this purpose. (The link I provided may NOT be to the exact product. But i'm sure it's close) It doesn't bubble or shrink at all if touched with the iron. The iron will make the tape almost permanet though, so keep that in mind.

By comparison to regular tape, this stuff is pricey, but it's worth it to not have to worry about it while ironing.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
carolrv said...
This tape also makes a good emergency hem repair. I learned this during my nursing career! and it even survives going through the laundry.
10/11/10 7:02 AM
carolrv said...
This tape also makes a good emergency hem repair. I learned this during my nursing career! and it even survives going through the laundry.
10/11/10 7:02 AM
minasmom said...
Nancy's Notions sells medical 3M tape and calls it Sewer's Fix It Tape (Item # SFT4). That includes 4 rolls @$3.99. It can be ironed without yucking up your iron. I use it to lengthen/shorten patterns. I will now look for the paper tape at the dollar store (to avoid shipping costs).
10/4/10 8:54 AM
Alice said...
Love it! Thanks, I've used the other and it does make a mess.
10/3/10 8:44 PM
RockNRoll said...
Great tip! Yes the regular tape does bubble, and i have yucked up my iron once or twice also lol!
10/3/10 2:26 PM
audsews said...
I LOVE this stuff! I get it at the dollar store - any paper medical tape will work. it also doesn't tear the tissue when repositioned.
10/3/10 10:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.