SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Never pivot on a V neckline

Viewed 5405 times
Posted by: Alice
photo

 
 
About Alice
GA USA
Member since: 9/7/02
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/3/10 8:39 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people   Very Helpful by 33 people   
Years ago I was making a silk blouse with a V neckline. The pattern instruction were to sew down one side, pivot, and continue up the other side. Well, it puckered, so I did it again and again with same results. I did it so many times I was getting close to running out of the facing. Frustrated I id my very best and hoped that it wouldn't be noticed! Now I know better, you must always take two stitches at the V for the "turn of the fabric." Which only goes to show you that you can't always rely on what the pattern company writes. Butterick continues to do this, it's the only one I've recently checked. New sewers rely on their patterns, they can't.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
This is such a useful tip and the results are fairly consistent. Makes you wonder why the pattern companies do not instruct you to use this method....
10/18/10 11:40 PM
Ruth Designs said...
I have had this problem so many times. Thanks for the advice.
10/11/10 1:59 PM
Josephine said...
Thank you! I'm going to try this :)
10/7/10 2:33 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Thanks for this great reminder. I avoid v-neck styles for this very reason then I read this and remember I CAN do V necks. Good tip!
10/6/10 4:19 PM
SewRaeMe said...
Good tip. I never had much success with the V either. (hopefully this is in the new book:))
10/4/10 6:07 PM
justgail said...
so would I be correct in thinking that if using a heavy fabric like polar fleece weight, that I'd want to do 3-4 stitches even? Or is staying 2 enough? Thanks!
10/4/10 1:53 PM
Rhoda K said...
Thanks for the reminder - I'd forgotten about this.
10/4/10 9:52 AM
knitmachinequeen said...
Excellent tip.
10/4/10 9:11 AM
Heather Seccombe said...
About an inch before the turn, I would select a very small stitch, stitch to the turn, 2 stitches across the V peak, stitch about an inch, and return to normal stitch length.
10/4/10 0:48 AM
RockNRoll said...
so you take 2 stitches at the V then turn?
10/4/10 0:30 AM
marec said...
Good tip Alice...thanks!
10/4/10 0:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

More Info
Summer Tote

Summer Tote

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.