SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Never pivot on a V neckline

Viewed 5339 times
Posted by: Alice
photo

 
 
About Alice
GA USA
Member since: 9/7/02
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/3/10 8:39 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people   Very Helpful by 33 people   
Years ago I was making a silk blouse with a V neckline. The pattern instruction were to sew down one side, pivot, and continue up the other side. Well, it puckered, so I did it again and again with same results. I did it so many times I was getting close to running out of the facing. Frustrated I id my very best and hoped that it wouldn't be noticed! Now I know better, you must always take two stitches at the V for the "turn of the fabric." Which only goes to show you that you can't always rely on what the pattern company writes. Butterick continues to do this, it's the only one I've recently checked. New sewers rely on their patterns, they can't.


<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Good tip Alice...thanks!
10/4/10 0:03 AM
RockNRoll said...
so you take 2 stitches at the V then turn?
10/4/10 0:30 AM
Heather Seccombe said...
About an inch before the turn, I would select a very small stitch, stitch to the turn, 2 stitches across the V peak, stitch about an inch, and return to normal stitch length.
10/4/10 0:48 AM
knitmachinequeen said...
Excellent tip.
10/4/10 9:11 AM
Rhoda K said...
Thanks for the reminder - I'd forgotten about this.
10/4/10 9:52 AM
justgail said...
so would I be correct in thinking that if using a heavy fabric like polar fleece weight, that I'd want to do 3-4 stitches even? Or is staying 2 enough? Thanks!
10/4/10 1:53 PM
SewRaeMe said...
Good tip. I never had much success with the V either. (hopefully this is in the new book:))
10/4/10 6:07 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Thanks for this great reminder. I avoid v-neck styles for this very reason then I read this and remember I CAN do V necks. Good tip!
10/6/10 4:19 PM
Josephine said...
Thank you! I'm going to try this :)
10/7/10 2:33 AM
Ruth Designs said...
I have had this problem so many times. Thanks for the advice.
10/11/10 1:59 PM
EleanorSews said...
This is such a useful tip and the results are fairly consistent. Makes you wonder why the pattern companies do not instruct you to use this method....
10/18/10 11:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.