SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Double Your Thread Storage

Viewed 5342 times
Posted by: Auntie Susan
photo

 
 
About Auntie Susan star
ON CANADA
Member since: 12/8/09
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
tips added: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/7/10 8:03 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
Web site/URL: photo
A drinking straw, cut in half, can double the storage space on thread racks. Be sure to use straight straws, not the kind that bend. Unfortunately, the bobbins my machine uses are too small to fit over the straw, or else I would store them with the matching thread on the straw.

See more of my tips by clicking the link above, then click on Sewing Projects for my photoblog of completed projects. More to come soon!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
QB said...
I do the same thing, but I put my bobbins on the pin first, under the straw (otherwise I could never keep track of the colors).
10/8/10 1:43 AM
elsew said...
QB...now THAT is a great suggestion! Thanks for posting this one.
10/8/10 8:22 AM
kws said...
Thanks for the photoblog. It is very good.
10/8/10 8:29 AM
quathy said...
Love the straw idea!
10/8/10 12:30 PM
eleda said...
Great tip. I also looked at your pictures. I just wanted to know, what type of board do you have on your cutting table in order to make it bigger widthwise and where did you purchase it? I could use one of those to make my table bigger. Thanks
10/9/10 7:38 PM
Auntie Susan said...
Eleda - My cutting table is a 6' banquet table that I placed 1/2" plywood on top off to make it the size of my cutting board. I purchased the plywood at Lowe's and had it cut to size there at the store, then used duct tape to hold the pieces together so they would not wiggle around. I also duct taped around the perimeter of the plywood so it would not snag my fabric. The cutting board I bought at either Joann's or Hancock Fabrics, so long ago I don't remember which. I have not done this, but you can also buy bed risers or put some other object under the feet of the table to raise it higher for a better height for cutting fabric.
10/10/10 10:52 AM
nothy lane said...
Wonderful! Thank you! I will use this tip tonight.
1/29/14 2:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Katy Bags

Katy Bags

Buy Now
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.