SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Double Your Thread Storage

Viewed 5481 times
Posted by: Auntie Susan
photo

 
 
About Auntie Susan star
Canada
Member since: 12/8/09
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
tips added: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/7/10 8:03 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
Web site/URL: photo
A drinking straw, cut in half, can double the storage space on thread racks. Be sure to use straight straws, not the kind that bend. Unfortunately, the bobbins my machine uses are too small to fit over the straw, or else I would store them with the matching thread on the straw.

See more of my tips by clicking the link above, then click on Sewing Projects for my photoblog of completed projects. More to come soon!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
nothy lane said...
Wonderful! Thank you! I will use this tip tonight.
1/29/14 2:06 PM
Auntie Susan said...
Eleda - My cutting table is a 6' banquet table that I placed 1/2" plywood on top off to make it the size of my cutting board. I purchased the plywood at Lowe's and had it cut to size there at the store, then used duct tape to hold the pieces together so they would not wiggle around. I also duct taped around the perimeter of the plywood so it would not snag my fabric. The cutting board I bought at either Joann's or Hancock Fabrics, so long ago I don't remember which. I have not done this, but you can also buy bed risers or put some other object under the feet of the table to raise it higher for a better height for cutting fabric.
10/10/10 10:52 AM
eleda said...
Great tip. I also looked at your pictures. I just wanted to know, what type of board do you have on your cutting table in order to make it bigger widthwise and where did you purchase it? I could use one of those to make my table bigger. Thanks
10/9/10 7:38 PM
quathy said...
Love the straw idea!
10/8/10 12:30 PM
kws said...
Thanks for the photoblog. It is very good.
10/8/10 8:29 AM
elsew said...
QB...now THAT is a great suggestion! Thanks for posting this one.
10/8/10 8:22 AM
QB said...
I do the same thing, but I put my bobbins on the pin first, under the straw (otherwise I could never keep track of the colors).
10/8/10 1:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.