SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > How many hours to complete project ?

Viewed 5314 times
Posted by: ak21
photo

 
 
About ak21 starstar
AUSTRIA
Member since: 5/11/10
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/15/10 4:54 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 21 people   
At the start of a new project I haven't done before I start a time log. At the end I write this info down & break it up as much as possible ie. preparation, pinning & cutting, construction, finishing. I then sticky note this to the 'instruction sheet' of the pattern for future reference. That way I know how much time to allow for the project in stages. Its handy when you have only an hour or 2 to spare in a day...you know what you can achieve in this time.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
thaiyal said...
This tip made me smile! We had a WBS session last week at work. It means work breakdown session and arriving at what all we need to do for a project and what is the time/cost involved. Helps great with estimation. I'm amazed that you came up with this process for sewing!! Way to go!
6/19/11 3:04 PM
ak21 said...
im glad this tip has been helpful to so many ppl!
10/17/10 3:23 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
I'm such a putterer that I'm afraid I'd find this information more discouraging than not sometimes. However, I'm currently working on a project that is going very quickly, and it might be good to remember that if I come back to the pattern again. I like your suggestion about tracking each stage of the project. It's good to know where the time-comsuming parts are going to be.
10/16/10 5:14 PM
quathy said...
I started doing this recently, too! It helps me see which areas of sewing take the most time. I only get to sew in small blocks of time.
10/16/10 3:16 PM
RLL said...
I like this idea and have often thought of timing myself in some way......but usually just forget about it and jump right in. Maybe a timer sitting there as a reminder might be in order.
10/16/10 1:39 PM
costumecarol said...
I keep a digital timer in the sewing room for this.
10/16/10 11:21 AM
marec said...
This is a great idea to help one decide on a manageable project.
10/16/10 10:51 AM
ak21 said...
ive found it really helpful so i thought others might too! its time consuming the first time round but so worth it when you have to reference quickly. refreshes the memory!
10/16/10 10:18 AM
Gildarose said...
This is a great idea, thanks for sharing it.
10/15/10 10:21 PM
Annie- oh said...
This is a nice idea in more ways than one. Not only for having a record for the next time, think how fun it would be for how much less time it takes each time. Thanks!
10/15/10 8:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.