SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > How many hours to complete project ?

Viewed 5258 times
Posted by: ak21
photo

 
 
About ak21 starstar
AUSTRIA
Member since: 5/11/10
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/15/10 4:54 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 21 people   
At the start of a new project I haven't done before I start a time log. At the end I write this info down & break it up as much as possible ie. preparation, pinning & cutting, construction, finishing. I then sticky note this to the 'instruction sheet' of the pattern for future reference. That way I know how much time to allow for the project in stages. Its handy when you have only an hour or 2 to spare in a day...you know what you can achieve in this time.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Annie- oh said...
This is a nice idea in more ways than one. Not only for having a record for the next time, think how fun it would be for how much less time it takes each time. Thanks!
10/15/10 8:16 PM
Gildarose said...
This is a great idea, thanks for sharing it.
10/15/10 10:21 PM
ak21 said...
ive found it really helpful so i thought others might too! its time consuming the first time round but so worth it when you have to reference quickly. refreshes the memory!
10/16/10 10:18 AM
marec said...
This is a great idea to help one decide on a manageable project.
10/16/10 10:51 AM
costumecarol said...
I keep a digital timer in the sewing room for this.
10/16/10 11:21 AM
RLL said...
I like this idea and have often thought of timing myself in some way......but usually just forget about it and jump right in. Maybe a timer sitting there as a reminder might be in order.
10/16/10 1:39 PM
quathy said...
I started doing this recently, too! It helps me see which areas of sewing take the most time. I only get to sew in small blocks of time.
10/16/10 3:16 PM
Q Valley Mary said...
I'm such a putterer that I'm afraid I'd find this information more discouraging than not sometimes. However, I'm currently working on a project that is going very quickly, and it might be good to remember that if I come back to the pattern again. I like your suggestion about tracking each stage of the project. It's good to know where the time-comsuming parts are going to be.
10/16/10 5:14 PM
ak21 said...
im glad this tip has been helpful to so many ppl!
10/17/10 3:23 AM
thaiyal said...
This tip made me smile! We had a WBS session last week at work. It means work breakdown session and arriving at what all we need to do for a project and what is the time/cost involved. Helps great with estimation. I'm amazed that you came up with this process for sewing!! Way to go!
6/19/11 3:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.