SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > French Seam

Viewed 5429 times
Posted by: monahan
photo

 
 
About monahan star
SC USA
Member since: 7/9/03
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/23/03 7:50 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
This may be common knowledge, but french seams are 5/8" seams sewn first at 1/4" with wrong sides together (don't forget to Press As You Go) then sewn at 3/8" with right sides together. The result is a totally enclosed seam. It's great for lightweight fabrics. The above link has step by step instructions.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Esteemarlu said...
Thank you so much for this tip!
4/18/12 1:52 AM
CA Eisenhour said...
I knew how to do a French Seam; however, I thought a link would be gracious.
9/2/11 3:50 AM
monahan said...
I just revisited the french seam and followed Georgene's tip. I sewed the first pass at 3/8" and trimmed it down to 1/8" then sewed the second pass using a 1/4" foot. Made a beautiful edge.
7/18/11 7:33 AM
MissFit said...
It may be "common knowledge" but for those of us who never took a class and just kind of learn as we go, thank you.
7/30/08 2:25 PM
*Jessica* said...
thanks! so helpful ! now i know how to do it :)
10/21/06 4:28 PM
sewingsusie said...
I love using French seams - the seam is totally professional looking. I want to get a Serger, although the French Seam is the next best thing I know to do to make a seam look more finished and professional.
4/20/05 1:11 PM
Reikidolls said...
This is exactly what I was looking for. I've done French Seams before, I just needed a quickie review!
11/26/04 10:08 AM
Diana M said...
Thank you, thank you, thank you! I've been looking for EXACTLY this info!
4/20/04 7:07 PM
Shannon Gifford said...
And for an even easier method, use your serger for the first pass of the seam. I use the 2 thread option on my serger; you get a really thin, strong, finished French seam this way, with no "pokies" of thread sticking out!
9/23/03 8:46 PM
Georgene said...
You can trim a bit off of that first seam. If your fabric is ravelly you could end up with little bits hanging out of the second seam. Also trimming down your seam and stitching 1/4" instead of 3/8" on the second pass will give you a really tiny beautiful seam on a sheer fabric. Much nicer to look at in a chiffon or netting type fabric.
9/23/03 9:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

More Info
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.