SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Woodworking Transfer Paper for Tracing

Viewed 5877 times
Posted by: Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri A starstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 73 people
tips added: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/17/10 8:18 PM
Last Updated: 12/3/14 1:25 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Large sheets of transfer paper that come in three sizes. It doesn't come off in your hands, can be erased with a standard eraser and is very inexpensive. The thing I love about it is you can get super large sizes and do very large projects. I got a huge amount of it for $9.50
The site says it can be used on fabric itself, but I haven't tested washing it out of fabric. I use it to trace Burda type patterns and the ones I don't want to cut (like Colette Patterns) onto paper.

edited to add:
The way I use it, is to lay a sheet of paper that I want my pattern to be traced onto down on a flat surface. Then, I put the woodworking transfer, paper face down on that. Next I lay the Burda down on top. Weight everything down with heavy objects so nothing moves. I use a double tracing wheel to add the seam allowance I want, and go over/roll the tracing wheel over, the outline of each pattern piece. When you are finished, cut out your pattern pieces from the paper. I like this method because I don't like squinting through tracing paper to the maze of lines underneath to trace by normal methods. This way, I can clearly see the colored lines and roll the wheel over it directly. It doesn't leave a strong dark mark, but a light erasable one.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Oh yes, the link is the little camera symbol above, where it says website/URL under my name.
10/23/10 12:59 PM
Barbara Bara said...
Wonderful suggestion! Would you be kind enough as to share the URL for the website where you purchased your tracing paper?
10/22/10 11:33 PM
Terri A said...
The way I use it, is to lay a sheet of paper that I want my pattern to be traced onto, down on a flat surface. Then, I put the woodworking transfer, paper face down on that. Next I lay the Burda down on top. Weight everything down with heavy objects so nothing moves. I use a double tracing wheel to add the seam allowance I want, and go over/roll the tracing wheel over, the outline of each pattern piece. When you are finished, cut out your pattern pieces from the paper. I like this method because I don't like squinting through tracing paper to the maze of lines underneath to trace by normal methods. This way, I can clearly see the colored lines and roll the wheel over it directly. It doesn't leave a strong dark mark, but a light erasable one.
10/19/10 2:54 PM
deesews said...
Hello, I don't quite understand. The website makes it sound like you would put the Burda pattern on top of this transfer paper and then outline the pattern. But where do the lines show up? Does it work like carbon paper, where you have a sandwich of Burda/Transfer Paper/Fabric? How do you get the lines onto the transfer paper's top itself, and then do you cut out the transfer paper?
10/18/10 9:21 AM
Catbird said...
Thank you for this!
10/18/10 8:41 AM
SandiMacD said...
Thanks, I just ordered some.
10/18/10 5:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.