SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Quilt Binding Join

Viewed 5309 times
Posted by: Scarlin3
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Scarlin3 star
NY USA
Member since: 9/15/05
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/26/10 1:02 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I have always had a terrible time figuring out how to join a french binding without using a horizontal seam. I want to use an angle seam so it's not so noticeable. Even the quilting books make it difficult.

After having to bind 10 quilt blocks for an event and not having the time to spend 20 minutes on each block to fiddle with the join, I FINALLY figured out an incredibly easy way to accomplish the task that satisfies my nit-picky-has-to-be-perfect personality.

Any comments you have to make the wording clearer is MUCH appreciated!

Hope you all find it as useful as I have!

Susan

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
HeyJane said...
This is great! I will definitely use it on upcoming bedding and table runners. And necklines, yes!! It will eliminate more of that lumpiness. Great photos.
10/27/10 10:56 PM
abbe said...
I have about three methods for joining the ends of binding. None of them are great. This tip is so good...thanks!
10/27/10 6:47 PM
quathy said...
I LOVE your picture series - very helpful! I've always added that 1/4" and it does make a little lump. Maybe from the bias stretching when I fold over or something. Now I won't be afraid to just cut that off!
10/27/10 3:16 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
Thank you so much. I will try this very soon.
10/27/10 10:20 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, I don't really do quilting but this binding tutorial is fabulous. I know I'll find it so helpful in the future. Thanks for taking the time to explain so clearly with the pics.
10/27/10 9:57 AM
Patti B said...
Brilliant! Can't wait to try it on my next binding. Thanks for posting such clear photos and instructions. ETA I just tried it on a neck binding on a knit -- magic! Thanks again.
10/27/10 9:52 AM
vasallese said...
Thanks, you are right, they do make it look very difficult. I will try this one.
10/27/10 9:25 AM
jorgel said...
This is a great tip, thank so much! I will definitely try this next time I use binding.
10/27/10 7:13 AM
Norma Hyman said...
How did you ever come up with this??? I love it and will try it the next time I bind ANYTHING.
10/26/10 9:42 PM
annenet said...
Very cool! The picture says it all!
10/26/10 3:55 PM
RosieN said...
I can't wait to try this. Thanks for your excellent instructions. I especially your "I know this seems confusing" comments. Some how it makes your instructions even clearer!
10/26/10 2:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.