SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Darts

Viewed 5338 times
Posted by: Nan Kay
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nan Kay star
MO USA
Member since: 5/27/09
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/27/10 4:19 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Don't remember seeing this method here so I'll mention it! When I make darts I start at the point, not the seam! I fold the dart, pin baste it in place and before I start to stitch I bring the bobbin thread up so I have enough top and bottom thread to tie a knot after it is stitched. Place the fabric under the presser foot with the point of the dart so the first stitch will be off the fabric and the second stitch on the fabric at the point. Do not back stitch, stitch the dart to the seam edge. At the seam edge you can back stitch or not, doesn't matter in the seam allowance. Tie the knot at the point and you have a perfect dart every time. When I'm making darts that have two ends I break the stitching in the middle and start at both points. Adds a step but you get better points.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Winifred said...
You're absolutely right to do this Nan - I've seen it taught by sewing tutors in UK. Must start taking it on board myself !! Thanks
10/27/10 6:35 PM
LynnG said...
You are so right. Darts do look much better using this method.
10/28/10 10:19 AM
JEF said...
Thanks for the tip!
10/28/10 2:39 PM
deesews said...
To go a step further, it's possible to use this method to eliminate the knot at the tip. This is what to do: Bring up the bobbin thread, then unthread your machine. Using the bobbin thread, thread the needle from back to front, go up and thread the machine. Be sure to wind enough of this bobbin thread onto the spool to complete the dart. Then, you don't need to tie a knot at the end! This is a Margaret Islander tip.
10/28/10 3:20 PM
Nan Kay said...
Yes, deesews I have done this with very sheer fabric to eliminate the knot, works really well too.
10/28/10 3:22 PM
Auntie Susan said...
I started doing this a few years ago. Much better results than starting at the top - no more bubbles at the tip! It's a shame that most sewing books only show the one method. This is why we need to experiment to find techniques that work for each of us. Thanks for posting it for those who didn't know.
10/29/10 2:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.