SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Pattern weights: using chains

Viewed 5272 times
Posted by: Mariyka
photo

 
 
About Mariyka
OH
Member since: 8/10/10
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/27/10 4:28 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 22 people   
When I asked my husband for some heavy washers to use as weights for pattern cutting, he offered some heavy galvanized chain pieces he had leftover from hanging a swing. They work great! You can stretch them out to follow the contours of the pattern and they're easy to store-- just hang them over a hook.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewFar said...
What a great tip - so very clever! Thank you for posting.
10/27/10 4:31 PM
Sana said...
That's a great idea. You have a clever husband.
10/27/10 6:47 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great tip.
10/27/10 7:37 PM
arianamaniacs said...
good idea. i wish i had some chains now
10/28/10 3:00 AM
carolbee said...
GREAT IDE!
10/28/10 3:48 AM
abcameo said...
hmmm--sounds like this might work even better than my standby--tuna cans.
10/28/10 9:27 AM
LynnG said...
Never thought of this, but its an excellent idea. I'll have to browse my husbands parts bins.
10/28/10 10:22 AM
Laurie Lou said...
What a "simply" wonderful idea. even better than washers. I finally have a reason to go to the home depot next time!
10/28/10 11:59 AM
Lizz said...
Eureka! I LOVE this!
10/28/10 12:37 PM
abbe said...
The commercial weights are $$$$ (IMHO) and there are only 4 in package. The chain idea is so great! Thanks
10/29/10 3:23 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Wonderful idea! Thanks so much!!!
11/1/10 3:34 PM
SeamsYouSew said...
Love this idea--could probably find chromed/rust proof versions to avoid corrosion concerns. Thank You.
3/26/12 3:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.