SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > stitching knit hems with paper

Viewed 5299 times
Posted by: DOMESTICATEDMENNONITE
photo

 
 
About DOMESTICATEDMENNONITE star
MB CANADA
Member since: 12/2/09
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/18/10 10:19 PM
Last Updated: 4/27/11 2:18 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Knit hems can be a real hassle. Sometimes your needle wants to shove the material all the way down into the bottom feeding bobbin.
Time to improvise. Cut a newspaper into strips and just lie it down on top of your material and stitch over it. Its easily ripped off afterwards, and does't leave any sticky residue. If newspaper doesn't work, try construction paper, or old cards.

If those methods don't work, spray on starch might be a possibility........... or scraps of interfacing, or even scraps of tissue paper left over from when you cut out the pattern.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
LynnG said...
Thanks for the tip. I work with a lot of knits and and my fabric does like to get sucked into the plate. I will definitely give this a try. Do you ever have a problem with the newsprint coming off on the fabric?
11/19/10 9:38 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Tearaway interfacing might be a good bet here, since it rips much easier
11/19/10 9:51 AM
ryansmumAria said...
I love this hint and I also must use an extra something. I have found that strips of tissue paper works well or I use steam a seam (1/2 inch light weight) and it adds the stability to the hem so that it doesn't get sucked down.
11/19/10 10:52 AM
Charrlie said...
Thanks for the tip domesticatedmennonite. Would you put the steam a seam between the 2 fabrics?
11/20/10 7:44 PM
MaryStern said...
I love your hint, too! After struggling in trying to get a knit hem to lay flat, and then reading your hint, I put a small strip of stabilizer inside the hem and wow, what a difference! I am making pants and made a sample hem using 1/4 inch grosgrain ribbon as a stabilizer and I really like the weight it gives to the pant hem. You got me thinking on this one!! Many thanks.
11/28/10 7:42 AM
DOMESTICATEDMENNONITE said...
LynnG, you're welcome. And I've never had a problem with colour staying on the fabric afterwards. I did use coloured ads though, not sure if that makes a difference or not. Also my fabric was completely dry, since I didn't iron with steam. If you're wondering why I was improvising this way, we live about an hour away from the nearest fabric store. Thinking outside the box can have its rewards.
12/3/10 4:53 PM
marcieinmontana said...
Be careful using printed papers. The ink can rub off on your fabric.
2/2/11 5:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.