Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
stitching knit hems with paper (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5188 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Posted by: DOMESTICATEDMENNONITE
photo
About DOMESTICATEDMENNONITE star
MB CANADA
Member since: 12/2/09
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/18/10 10:19 PM
Last Updated: 4/27/11 2:18 PM
Knit hems can be a real hassle. Sometimes your needle wants to shove the material all the way down into the bottom feeding bobbin.
Time to improvise. Cut a newspaper into strips and just lie it down on top of your material and stitch over it. Its easily ripped off afterwards, and does't leave any sticky residue. If newspaper doesn't work, try construction paper, or old cards.

If those methods don't work, spray on starch might be a possibility........... or scraps of interfacing, or even scraps of tissue paper left over from when you cut out the pattern.

Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LynnG said...
Thanks for the tip. I work with a lot of knits and and my fabric does like to get sucked into the plate. I will definitely give this a try. Do you ever have a problem with the newsprint coming off on the fabric?
11/19/10 9:38 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Tearaway interfacing might be a good bet here, since it rips much easier
11/19/10 9:51 AM
ryansmumAria said...
I love this hint and I also must use an extra something. I have found that strips of tissue paper works well or I use steam a seam (1/2 inch light weight) and it adds the stability to the hem so that it doesn't get sucked down.
11/19/10 10:52 AM
Charrlie said...
Thanks for the tip domesticatedmennonite. Would you put the steam a seam between the 2 fabrics?
11/20/10 7:44 PM
MaryStern said...
I love your hint, too! After struggling in trying to get a knit hem to lay flat, and then reading your hint, I put a small strip of stabilizer inside the hem and wow, what a difference! I am making pants and made a sample hem using 1/4 inch grosgrain ribbon as a stabilizer and I really like the weight it gives to the pant hem. You got me thinking on this one!! Many thanks.
11/28/10 7:42 AM
DOMESTICATEDMENNONITE said...
LynnG, you're welcome. And I've never had a problem with colour staying on the fabric afterwards. I did use coloured ads though, not sure if that makes a difference or not. Also my fabric was completely dry, since I didn't iron with steam. If you're wondering why I was improvising this way, we live about an hour away from the nearest fabric store. Thinking outside the box can have its rewards.
12/3/10 4:53 PM
marcieinmontana said...
Be careful using printed papers. The ink can rub off on your fabric.
2/2/11 5:56 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us