SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Sewing hems on knits

Viewed 5438 times
Posted by: Auntie Susan
photo

 
 
About Auntie Susan star
ON CANADA
Member since: 12/8/09
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
tips added: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/6/10 7:00 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
I've seen a lot of suggestions on how to get a good looking hem on a knit, but I have found that simply having a hem allowance of at least 1 - 1.5", pressing up the hem, and then top stitching with a twin needle 1/2" from the folded edge works for me. After stitching, trim off the excess fabric close to the stitching. Since knits don't ravel, don't worry about leaving the edge raw. I've never had a problem with the fabric being pushed around while stitching using this method due to the extra fabric to the left of the needle.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
petro said...
Good tip!
12/7/10 3:12 AM
LynnG said...
I will have to give this a try. Thanks!
12/7/10 9:07 AM
fuzzy said...
What size needle and how much space between the two needles? Does it matter?
12/7/10 11:23 AM
Charrlie said...
THANKS WILL TRY
12/7/10 3:59 PM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for this tip. I have a coverstitch machine, but it seems to me that it is still applicable -- There would be no chance of missing the top of the hem with the stitching, as sometimes happens when I am in a hurry.
12/7/10 5:40 PM
Auntie Susan said...
Fuzzy - the size of the needle depends on the fabric. I usually use a size 10 or 12 twin needle for light to medium weight knits. The spacing is your choice, but I believe most twin needles come in either 1/8" or 1/4" width spacing. If you don't have a twin needle, simply sew 2 rows of evenly spaced top-stitching the width of your choice. Experiment on scrap fabric first to see what you like best. I find that a stitch length of 3.5 to 4 mm works best for me.
12/7/10 6:38 PM
Mrs4Him said...
Thank you! I will be sewing a knit in the near future for the first time which makes me nervous to think about--but your tip sounds good to me!
12/7/10 6:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.