SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Emergency tear-away stabilizer

Viewed 5708 times
Posted by: JOshiro
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JOshiro star
Member since: 5/14/05
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/8/10 3:44 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
I was trying to stitch clear elastic onto the very edge of t-shirt neckline as a stretchy stabilizer. At the beginning of the seam, everything sank into the throat plate, so I knew I needed stabilizer. Couldn't find the Sulky tear-away stuff that I know I have... Was out of gift-wrap tissue paper that I've used in a pinch... Hey, gift wrap!

Here I am with probably 6 rolls of cheap paper (the kind that you buy at Target for a couple bucks). I cut off a strip, fed it in with the fabric and elastic, and it worked perfectly. It tore away cleanly, didn't pull the stitches, and didn't leave any messy paper scraps behind.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
autumnquilter said...
Thanks. Look forward to trying it.
12/9/10 8:12 AM
Patti B said...
Desperation is the mother of invention, eh? Nice save.
12/9/10 10:13 AM
Mufffet said...
AWESOME! I use tissue and also have used tracing paper in a pinch! No sense even buying the tear away! THANKS!
12/9/10 11:02 AM
RLL said...
Yea, why buy the expensive stuff when less expensive stuff will work. Thanks.
12/9/10 2:05 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
I've used ruled paper I raided from my kids school supplies and it works, but the gift-wrap paper you used is more maleable and not as staff. Thanks for the tip. This is good for those scraps you cut of the sides and ends of your package and don't want to throw away.
12/9/10 2:10 PM
SaliO said...
Some years ago I took a Martha Pullen class & she told us a story about using seat covers (new!) from the Ladies restroom when tear-away didn't make it to the classroom! I've used adding machine paper for years.
12/11/10 6:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.