SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Class Reviews > Furathon with Dinah

Ohio, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5375 times
Posted by: LynnMR333
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LynnMR333 star
OH USA
Member since: 6/18/10
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
classes reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/15/10 1:30 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Dinah Manista held a 5 sewing class on working with fauz fur. Great class! Included backround and characteristics of various fake fur. Suggestions for pattern selection, lining materials, etc. Care of finished garment. She showed samples of various ideas and demonstrated techniques. Then we made our own samples of how to sew the seams together. We each proceeded with laying out, prepping, and cutting our material. (We came to class with our pattern already traced.)
The remainder of the class was sewing the seams and then attaching the lining. Wonderful class. Dinah is also great about answering questions during class and days after.
Class was held at Janie's sewing corner. So anything forgotten could easily be found at Janie's.

Link to my review of the pattern I used for the fur vest-> http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=58053

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
craftinginmycave2 said...
This class sounded like a lot of fun. Do you have a URL for more classes from Dinah?
12/16/10 10:18 AM
LynnMR333 said...
Hello craftingmycave2, Please keep an eye on Janie's Sewing Corner web site. http://www.janiessewingcorner.com/ She should be updating her calendar soon with the 2011 Q1 classes. You're also welcome to stop in and talk with Janie. Many of her classes are the result of student requests. I also took a 'working with Knits', and another class 'working with slinky' with Dinah last Fall. A class starting in Jan is 'contour sewing of wool' with Karen which I'm looking forward to. Ask for me if you come to a class. I'd love to meet a patternreviewer buddy!!! Thanks. Lynn
12/17/10 1:14 PM
LynnMR333 said...
Hello craftingmycave2, Please keep an eye on Janie's Sewing Corner web site. http://www.janiessewingcorner.com/ She should be updating her calendar soon with the 2011 Q1 classes. You're also welcome to stop in and talk with Janie. Many of her classes are the result of student requests. I also took a 'working with Knits', and another class 'working with slinky' with Dinah last Fall. A class starting in Jan is 'contour sewing of wool' with Karen which I'm looking forward to. Ask for me if you come to a class. I'd love to meet a patternreviewer buddy!!! Thanks. Lynn
12/17/10 1:18 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Hi Lynn, I wanted to take the faux fur class, but it ended up a big conflict with end of month work load, and I could not participate. Count me as most envious! I will be at Itchin' to Stitch in January, barring any 10 foot snow drifts in the way. See you there? Nancy R.
12/19/10 10:13 AM
K_sew said...
Hi Lynn and Nancy, I'm envious too!! This is my busiest time of year at work...the faux fur class sounded like lots of fun. Sorry I had to miss it. I'm looking forward to the January Itchin' to Stitch also. Kathleen
12/19/10 9:07 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Lynn, K Sew: I was at Sit and Stitch today and Dinah is revisiting the faux fur methods class next Sunday (the 16th) and I will be there. Just a heads-up for you and others who might be lurking here... Nancy R
1/9/11 6:56 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Class was just fabulously fuzzy fun. We laughed Learned new stuff. I have photos on my FB page...Dinah did an outstanding job. Many thanks to everyone there too. A very nurturing and caring group when we weren't teasing each other and making fur funnies. Recommend to anyone who wants to sew with longer napped faux furs or the real deal stuff as well.
1/16/11 8:56 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
My vest has been complete for a couple of weeks now... been wearing it everywhere, even to work. I wrote the review... cyber space gobbled it up. I pasted my draft pieces in again struggled with links.. finished it. and now I see it there twice. Class was great, love my vest. And all because I saw this review.. thanks Lynn & Dinah!
3/6/11 2:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Buy Now
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.