Online Sewing Class: Bust Adjustments
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > Furathon with Dinah

Ohio, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5741 times
Posted by: LynnMR333
photo

 
 
About LynnMR333 star
OH USA
Member since: 6/18/10
Reviews: 12 (classes: 1)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/15/10 1:30 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Dinah Manista held a 5 sewing class on working with fauz fur. Great class! Included backround and characteristics of various fake fur. Suggestions for pattern selection, lining materials, etc. Care of finished garment. She showed samples of various ideas and demonstrated techniques. Then we made our own samples of how to sew the seams together. We each proceeded with laying out, prepping, and cutting our material. (We came to class with our pattern already traced.)
The remainder of the class was sewing the seams and then attaching the lining. Wonderful class. Dinah is also great about answering questions during class and days after.
Class was held at Janie's sewing corner. So anything forgotten could easily be found at Janie's.

Link to my review of the pattern I used for the fur vest-> http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=58053

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Nancy Rhodes said... (3/6/11 2:15 PM) Reply
My vest has been complete for a couple of weeks now... been wearing it everywhere, even to work. I wrote the review... cyber space gobbled it up. I pasted my draft pieces in again struggled with links.. finished it. and now I see it there twice. Class was great, love my vest. And all because I saw this review.. thanks Lynn & Dinah!
Nancy Rhodes said... (1/16/11 8:56 PM) Reply
Class was just fabulously fuzzy fun. We laughed Learned new stuff. I have photos on my FB page...Dinah did an outstanding job. Many thanks to everyone there too. A very nurturing and caring group when we weren't teasing each other and making fur funnies. Recommend to anyone who wants to sew with longer napped faux furs or the real deal stuff as well.
Nancy Rhodes said... (1/9/11 6:56 PM) Reply
Lynn, K Sew: I was at Sit and Stitch today and Dinah is revisiting the faux fur methods class next Sunday (the 16th) and I will be there. Just a heads-up for you and others who might be lurking here... Nancy R
K_sew said... (12/19/10 9:07 PM) Reply
Hi Lynn and Nancy, I'm envious too!! This is my busiest time of year at work...the faux fur class sounded like lots of fun. Sorry I had to miss it. I'm looking forward to the January Itchin' to Stitch also. Kathleen
Nancy Rhodes said... (12/19/10 10:13 AM) Reply
Hi Lynn, I wanted to take the faux fur class, but it ended up a big conflict with end of month work load, and I could not participate. Count me as most envious! I will be at Itchin' to Stitch in January, barring any 10 foot snow drifts in the way. See you there? Nancy R.
LynnMR333 said... (12/17/10 1:18 PM) Reply
Hello craftingmycave2, Please keep an eye on Janie's Sewing Corner web site. http://www.janiessewingcorner.com/ She should be updating her calendar soon with the 2011 Q1 classes. You're also welcome to stop in and talk with Janie. Many of her classes are the result of student requests. I also took a 'working with Knits', and another class 'working with slinky' with Dinah last Fall. A class starting in Jan is 'contour sewing of wool' with Karen which I'm looking forward to. Ask for me if you come to a class. I'd love to meet a patternreviewer buddy!!! Thanks. Lynn
LynnMR333 said... (12/17/10 1:14 PM) Reply
Hello craftingmycave2, Please keep an eye on Janie's Sewing Corner web site. http://www.janiessewingcorner.com/ She should be updating her calendar soon with the 2011 Q1 classes. You're also welcome to stop in and talk with Janie. Many of her classes are the result of student requests. I also took a 'working with Knits', and another class 'working with slinky' with Dinah last Fall. A class starting in Jan is 'contour sewing of wool' with Karen which I'm looking forward to. Ask for me if you come to a class. I'd love to meet a patternreviewer buddy!!! Thanks. Lynn
craftinginmycave2 said... (12/16/10 10:18 AM) Reply
This class sounded like a lot of fun. Do you have a URL for more classes from Dinah?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Pattern Details
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.