SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Blindstitching Hems on Knits

Viewed 5601 times
Posted by: ChristinePDX
photo

 
 
About ChristinePDX star
OR USA
Member since: 10/4/08
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/15/10 10:21 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
By default I have always hemmed knits with a double needle, but today I tried something different. Instead, I blindstitched. Not a new technique, but it was something I had never considered doing with a knit, so I thought I would pass it along. Some machines do have a stretch blindstitch, mine does not, but the hems seem to have enough give.

Here is what I did:
1. Interfaced the hems of my top (lightweight wool knit) on the bottom and sleeves with a lightweight knit interfacing.
2. Pressed up the hems.
3. If you want to really control possible slippage, at this step handbaste the hem in place.
3. Blindstitch as usual.

It created this lovely hem for my top, which is a dressy cowl knit t, and it was a very little fuss hem.


<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Victoria Jones Collection


Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
sharonharris1 said...
will try it next time.I sew a lot of knits
9/27/11 10:15 PM
KHinson said...
Did you use a fusible interfacing?
9/23/11 8:51 AM
ChristinePDX said...
elizajo, that is so funny, I also sew on an old Bernina 830 with their blindstitch foot!
12/31/10 9:15 AM
elizajo said...
For those of us without coverstitch machines, this method gives a great looking hem on knit clothing. The blind hem foot on my old Bernina 830 gives a very precise stitch. On knits, I experiment with scraps to find the best combo of stitch length and upper tension for the fabric to maintain stretch. Once, on a stretchy knit I resorted to the longest, loosest stitch possible and sewed the hem around two times so that it would hold, but still stretch. The knit tricot interfacing applied to a hem of 1- 1.5" is essential.
12/30/10 3:21 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
A very useful approach to hemming with knits. I've also used a plain old zig-zag and my blind stitch foot. Works well too.
12/16/10 6:40 PM
kws said...
great idea for knits
12/16/10 12:58 PM
Laurie Lou said...
You are absolutely right. I recently gave this a try and was very pleased with the results. I did it on the bottom of a tunic and the hem is not noticeable at all. Thanks for sending this tip in.
12/16/10 12:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

More Info
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.