SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Faux Coverstitching

Viewed 5311 times
Posted by: Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Laree starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 243
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
tips added: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/25/03 11:45 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Featured in the PR book!
This is just one more application for the double needle/wolly nylon in the bobbin technique that many people use to stitch hems in place on knit garments. I'm basically adding this tip because I've gotten to the point where I do it on all my knit tops with a neckband and I'm tired of typing it in each review...;)

After the neckband has been applied to your knit shirt, do one more step with the double needle...topstitch the neckband/shirt seam, keeping the needles centered over the seam. This gives a very RTW look on the neckline and has the bonus of helping hold the neckband flatter too!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Yep, that's what I did on my DH's "Euro Tee", it come out so great!
9/26/03 12:54 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Thanks for the tip! Sounds like a winner. I like how you made it into a tip so you wuldn't have to keep re-typing it! :) Keep up the good work.
10/1/03 7:37 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Lisa, this is such a great tip. This final stitching adds such a beautiful RTW look to our knits. An added bonus is that the neckband lays so much flatter, especially when using ribbing. Thanks for sharing it.
10/1/03 2:44 PM
oldsewandsew said...
Thanks Lisa - very interesting!
10/2/03 1:09 PM
JDpenelope said...
Nice tip. Will definitely use this, as I just bought a double needle for stretch fabrics.
12/3/03 7:18 AM
BlackBeauty said...
Hi, let me try this first before buying a cs machine .Thanks a lot. Regards,
2/28/08 7:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.