SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Tips & Techniques > Faux Coverstitching

Viewed 5545 times
Posted by: Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Laree starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 248 (tips: 16)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 91 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/25/03 11:45 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Featured in the PR book!
This is just one more application for the double needle/wolly nylon in the bobbin technique that many people use to stitch hems in place on knit garments. I'm basically adding this tip because I've gotten to the point where I do it on all my knit tops with a neckband and I'm tired of typing it in each review...;)

After the neckband has been applied to your knit shirt, do one more step with the double needle...topstitch the neckband/shirt seam, keeping the needles centered over the seam. This gives a very RTW look on the neckline and has the bonus of helping hold the neckband flatter too!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
BlackBeauty said... (2/28/08 7:36 PM) Reply
Hi, let me try this first before buying a cs machine .Thanks a lot. Regards,
JDpenelope said... (12/3/03 7:18 AM) Reply
Nice tip. Will definitely use this, as I just bought a double needle for stretch fabrics.
oldsewandsew said... (10/2/03 1:09 PM) Reply
Thanks Lisa - very interesting!
Gigi Louis said... (10/1/03 2:44 PM) Reply
Lisa, this is such a great tip. This final stitching adds such a beautiful RTW look to our knits. An added bonus is that the neckband lays so much flatter, especially when using ribbing. Thanks for sharing it.
Katharine in BXL said... (10/1/03 7:37 AM) Reply
Thanks for the tip! Sounds like a winner. I like how you made it into a tip so you wuldn't have to keep re-typing it! :) Keep up the good work.
Georgene said... (9/26/03 12:54 PM) Reply
Yep, that's what I did on my DH's "Euro Tee", it come out so great!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Fanny Pack or Purse Paper Pattern

Fanny Pack or Purse Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.