SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Tips & Techniques > Faux Coverstitching

Viewed 5650 times
Posted by: Lisa Laree
Friend of PR

About Lisa Laree starstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 250 (tips: 16)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 92 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/25/03 11:45 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Featured in the PR book!
This is just one more application for the double needle/wolly nylon in the bobbin technique that many people use to stitch hems in place on knit garments. I'm basically adding this tip because I've gotten to the point where I do it on all my knit tops with a neckband and I'm tired of typing it in each review...;)

After the neckband has been applied to your knit shirt, do one more step with the double needle...topstitch the neckband/shirt seam, keeping the needles centered over the seam. This gives a very RTW look on the neckline and has the bonus of helping hold the neckband flatter too!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques

Login to Add a Comment    
BlackBeauty said... (2/28/08 7:36 PM) Reply
Hi, let me try this first before buying a cs machine .Thanks a lot. Regards,
JDpenelope said... (12/3/03 7:18 AM) Reply
Nice tip. Will definitely use this, as I just bought a double needle for stretch fabrics.
oldsewandsew said... (10/2/03 1:09 PM) Reply
Thanks Lisa - very interesting!
Gigi Louis said... (10/1/03 2:44 PM) Reply
Lisa, this is such a great tip. This final stitching adds such a beautiful RTW look to our knits. An added bonus is that the neckband lays so much flatter, especially when using ribbing. Thanks for sharing it.
Katharine in BXL said... (10/1/03 7:37 AM) Reply
Thanks for the tip! Sounds like a winner. I like how you made it into a tip so you wuldn't have to keep re-typing it! :) Keep up the good work.
Georgene said... (9/26/03 12:54 PM) Reply
Yep, that's what I did on my DH's "Euro Tee", it come out so great!
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Pattern Details
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.