SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Aids for sewing doll clothes

Viewed 5497 times
Posted by: my horse
photo

 
 
About my horse star
NC USA
Member since: 5/9/05
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/30/10 8:23 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Christmas and 5 yr old granddaughters brought me into a new sewing world of 18" doll clothes. Hence, the need for some creative adaptations for some of my sewing tools.

Here are some things I found to be very helpful:

*Mini iron
*Sleeve board
*Seam board
*small cutting mat and small rotary cutter
*embroidery scissors for trimming seams and clipping curves
*the smallest Fastube turner for shoulder straps
*a plastic ballpoint weaving needle, invaluable for threading elastic in tiny casings where a regular bodkin won't fit.

In addition, *I covered a 3/4" piece of PVC pipe with several layers of very heavy flannel. It made a great seam roll, especially useful for underarm sleeve seams.
*I used our hot rice sock for a pressing ham. I squished all of the rice tightly into the end of the sock and used rubber bands to secure it. Perfect for pressing all curved seams. The rice holds the heat and gives a good press.

Hope this helps with your doll clothes sewing endeavors!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
petro said...
Great ideas! I love the pressing aids info, this will be so handy for other types of fiddly projects too.
12/31/10 4:48 AM
Angie Jones said...
Thanks! Love these tips. I'm teaching my daughters, ages 9 and 11 to sew and these will come in very handy!
12/31/10 5:58 AM
kathi s said...
I inherited a tiny dress form from my mom's stash when she moved in with us. She made the most exquisite period doll clothes!
12/31/10 11:31 AM
jannw said...
loved the rice sock idea..I just started sewing for a 15.5" doll and these tips were useful. Thanx
12/31/10 11:49 AM
Doctor Sister said...
Thanks so much for the hint about the rice sock. I can use that!
12/31/10 12:20 PM
Molliefran said...
Great tips! I have recently started sewing for the 18" dolls. Fun!! Fun!!
12/31/10 1:16 PM
Nanie said...
Great tips - I'm getting ready to start this adventure with my granddaughter. Thanks
1/1/11 8:51 AM
solosmocker said...
Great ideas! I've caught the 18 inch dolly bug too and DGD is the recipient thanks to Santa! what fun!
1/4/11 8:45 PM
DOMESTICATEDMENNONITE said...
Thank you for these tips. I just bought my little girl the nicest 14 inch doll I could find, and the poor thing is wearing a swimsuit... in Canada!
1/5/11 3:44 PM
wildberrymom said...
Especially like the pressing device ideas;having sewn many 18" doll outfits with AG patterns, I know I will find your suggestions helpful when sewing them for grandchildren someday.
1/11/11 3:15 AM
Elaine B. said...
Santa brought 7 yr GD an American doll & she wants to learn how to sew - sounds like a good book - thanks for all the info.
1/14/11 3:19 AM
cleverkitty said...
I like the idea of the rice sock! don't tell anyone I have two American Girl dolls (my own) and no grandchildren yet...
1/25/11 9:25 AM
Stitches212 said...
That "hot rice sock" is a great idea! I never would have thought of it. Thanks, and my granddaughter thanks you, too. Barbie is her favorite. Oh, those little clothes! LOL
2/3/11 9:01 PM
ctirish said...
These are great tips and I know I will use the ballpoint weaving needle for weaving elastic through for little ones.
9/18/11 11:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.