SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > cutting out lining and fabric together

Viewed 5495 times
Posted by: Laurie Lou
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Laurie Lou star
Member since: 10/16/05
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/4/11 1:45 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
I can't be the first person to think of this but here goes. Instead of layering the 2 fabrics on top of each other I sandwiched the lining inside the folded fashion fabric. I made sure my lining was pressed with no wrinkles and made sure the folds were up against each other, then I proceeded to pin and cut out. It worked like a charm and marking was equally efficient, easy and fast.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
woole bully said...
i LOVE this idea. cannot wait to try it. thanks.
1/5/11 7:41 AM
SandiMacD said...
I haven't considered that. What a great idea. Sometimes my shears don't cut through my fusible that I need on pockets, bodice, etc. I'm going to try this and see if the fabric sandwich let's the scissors cut through better. Thanks!
1/5/11 9:20 AM
quathy said...
I hadn't thought doing of this - thanks for the tip!
1/5/11 11:34 AM
brittney101 said...
wow, this is going to help out alot,can't wait to try it on my next project
1/6/11 2:53 PM
JENN10 said...
This is a wonderful suggestion. I hate cutting out linings separately.. I will be using this tip from here on!!!!! Thank you!!!!
1/7/11 1:39 PM
amingo said...
how was allowance made for shrinkage of lining/
1/10/11 3:33 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Amingo...Launder the lining first. :)
1/10/11 10:04 AM
wildberrymom said...
Great idea--looking forward to trying it.
1/11/11 3:09 AM
PSmith26 said...
Thanks for the tip. I have a few jackets that have lining I will try this next time. Thanks again
1/14/11 12:38 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
Great idea! Since the lining needs to be a bit smaller than the outside anyway, the folded pieces will be spot-on. And quite a time-saver if you're not doing a placement that eats up fabric like matching plaids or patterns at the seams.
1/15/11 1:55 PM
DesignsByDenise said...

1/15/11 1:56 PM
regine said...
There will be a problem when making a jacket, the lining of the back needs a fold so it is not the same as the jacket back. Similarly the front of a jacket lining is very different.
1/15/11 4:26 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Regine good point, I made a skirt and pants. One would have to consider this but at least the sleeves and some jackets...depending on the design. Thanks for pointing this out though. Something to consider.
1/17/11 10:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.