SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Folding large pieces of unruly fabric with clamps

Viewed 5799 times
Posted by: SeamsSewSilly
photo

 
 
About SeamsSewSilly
IN USA
Member since: 1/9/11
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/20/11 4:22 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
I'm a costumer and we are currently going through the fabric stash at the theatre I work at, which gets used and abused. Today, I pulled a giant wad of champagne satin out of a box, measured it to be FIFTEEN YARDS and then had to fold it. Well, I was alone and decided that I would take it to the stage to lay it out a little, but on my way there I swiped a couple of small clamps from the set guys' shop, kinda spring loaded deals. Anyhooters, I was able to fold the fabric in 1/2, clip the end, fold it over on it's self and clip the fold, then the other end, reclip and so on. It was like having 2 extra hands!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
elsew said...
What a great idea! How often could anyone of us have used this marvelous tip. Thanks so much for sharing!
1/23/11 6:15 PM
petro said...
Great idea. I think I'll get a couple of clamps for the sewing room next time I'm in a DIY.
1/22/11 4:07 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Great idea!
1/21/11 11:19 PM
JoaniesJosh said...
I love your user name!! Thanks for your tip!
1/21/11 10:39 AM
JoaniesJosh said...
I love your user name!! Thanks for your tip!
1/21/11 10:39 AM
RLL said...
Clamps do sound perfect for that extra helping hand.
1/21/11 10:23 AM
SandiMacD said...
Great idea. When I find my muslin fabrics on $1 sale I buy 12-15 yds. Last time I accordion folded and not easy. Clamps sound perfect!
1/21/11 7:35 AM
Tarrbaby said...
I love this idea, I work in a bridal shop and the basement needs cleaning. We have the same problem with leftover yardage. I will definately use this.
1/21/11 7:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

More Info
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.