SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > 11 frugal sewing ideas

Viewed 5728 times
Posted by: chris 45
photo

 
 
About chris 45 star
VA USA
Member since: 11/29/02
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/29/03 5:41 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 28 people   
hope someone finds something useful in my list for frugal sewing:
1) using the slightly puffy drawer liner made by "duck tape" (walmart-$3-$4) to put under my sewing machine & serger-pins & notions don't fall off the table and it keeps the vibration down (can also be used as a jar opener)
2) using the plastic carrying cases for matchbox cars (walmart-$5) to store thread
3) using metal plumbers washers (lowes, home depot) instead of pattern weights
4) using kabnet wax, a very light-weight wax paper, precut 10"x11"squares (costco, sams, bj's-$4/500 sheets) as a stabilizer for embroidery and other sewing; it tears off easily and can be sprayed with adhesive spray for items that can't be hooped
5) using fishing lure (not tackle) boxes (walmart, less than $5) for storing machine feet and small notions
6) using medium-weight vinyl (walmart-$1.50/yd) cut into strips to wrap thread so it doesn't come off the spool
7) putting a small bulletin board on the wall in front of my machine table and putting a needle chart, mm to inches conversion chart on it, along with thumbtacks to hold my scissors so they don't get nicked in a drawer
8) buying sheets at goodwill/salvation army and using them to make pillow cases for children (3-4 pillowcases from one full-size sheet)
9) selling sewing/quilting books i no longer need at half.com (i generally list them at $.25 less than the lowest current price)
9) buying 100% solid cotton fabric at the $1 table at walmart to use as backings for quilts
10) buying specialty threads at wholesale 5% through the fabricandnotions co-op group at yahoo.com (for example-woolly nylon is $2.90/1000 yds, pearl crown rayon is $2.00/100 yds, both about half of retail price)
11) signing up for the fabric.com newsletter-they seem to have a % off sale at least once a month; also get free shipping as a member of the american sewing guild)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Katharine in BXL said...
Thanks for sharing! I didn't know you could use wax paper for stabilizer. How creative! I like your other ideas too but that is really a stand-out. Muchas gracias!
9/30/03 6:28 AM
Angee said...
As a new sewer, these tips are extremely valuable to me. Thanks for sharing!
9/30/03 7:29 AM
KitnRose said...
I hang my scissors up by thumbtacks above the sewing machine as well. It keeps them from walking so much! :)
10/12/03 2:47 PM
JDpenelope said...
Many of these tips are useful. Thanks for the link to fabricandnotions co-op group at yahoo.com--will check that out. I like Walmart also for notions that are more expensive at fabric stores.
10/12/03 8:23 PM
lhstitcher said...
Chris, GREAT ideas! I also use the matchbox cases for thread, I'll never need another rack! Can't wait to check out the co-op group. Of course the more you save, the more fabric you can buy!!
10/15/03 12:59 PM
AngelO said...
I enjoyed all the tips. Thank you!
8/7/06 10:43 PM
Suziecreamcheese said...
As a beginning sewer just setting up my sewing room, I was considering purchasing an expensive notions basket. The fishing lure box is a great (and frugal) idea!
9/3/06 3:29 AM
kiddycat said...
Thanks for the tips! I am always looking for ways to get better organized, and ways to save $. Excellent!!!
11/13/07 6:17 PM
trishapatk said...
Thank you for a great list of concise and specific tips. Even the fact that so many of these things can be bought at one place, Walmart, is a big help.
5/14/08 9:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.