SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > 11 frugal sewing ideas

Viewed 5633 times
Posted by: chris 45
photo

 
 
About chris 45 star
VA USA
Member since: 11/29/02
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/29/03 5:41 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 28 people   
hope someone finds something useful in my list for frugal sewing:
1) using the slightly puffy drawer liner made by "duck tape" (walmart-$3-$4) to put under my sewing machine & serger-pins & notions don't fall off the table and it keeps the vibration down (can also be used as a jar opener)
2) using the plastic carrying cases for matchbox cars (walmart-$5) to store thread
3) using metal plumbers washers (lowes, home depot) instead of pattern weights
4) using kabnet wax, a very light-weight wax paper, precut 10"x11"squares (costco, sams, bj's-$4/500 sheets) as a stabilizer for embroidery and other sewing; it tears off easily and can be sprayed with adhesive spray for items that can't be hooped
5) using fishing lure (not tackle) boxes (walmart, less than $5) for storing machine feet and small notions
6) using medium-weight vinyl (walmart-$1.50/yd) cut into strips to wrap thread so it doesn't come off the spool
7) putting a small bulletin board on the wall in front of my machine table and putting a needle chart, mm to inches conversion chart on it, along with thumbtacks to hold my scissors so they don't get nicked in a drawer
8) buying sheets at goodwill/salvation army and using them to make pillow cases for children (3-4 pillowcases from one full-size sheet)
9) selling sewing/quilting books i no longer need at half.com (i generally list them at $.25 less than the lowest current price)
9) buying 100% solid cotton fabric at the $1 table at walmart to use as backings for quilts
10) buying specialty threads at wholesale 5% through the fabricandnotions co-op group at yahoo.com (for example-woolly nylon is $2.90/1000 yds, pearl crown rayon is $2.00/100 yds, both about half of retail price)
11) signing up for the fabric.com newsletter-they seem to have a % off sale at least once a month; also get free shipping as a member of the american sewing guild)

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Katharine in BXL said...
Thanks for sharing! I didn't know you could use wax paper for stabilizer. How creative! I like your other ideas too but that is really a stand-out. Muchas gracias!
9/30/03 6:28 AM
Angee said...
As a new sewer, these tips are extremely valuable to me. Thanks for sharing!
9/30/03 7:29 AM
KitnRose said...
I hang my scissors up by thumbtacks above the sewing machine as well. It keeps them from walking so much! :)
10/12/03 2:47 PM
JDpenelope said...
Many of these tips are useful. Thanks for the link to fabricandnotions co-op group at yahoo.com--will check that out. I like Walmart also for notions that are more expensive at fabric stores.
10/12/03 8:23 PM
lhstitcher said...
Chris, GREAT ideas! I also use the matchbox cases for thread, I'll never need another rack! Can't wait to check out the co-op group. Of course the more you save, the more fabric you can buy!!
10/15/03 12:59 PM
AngelO said...
I enjoyed all the tips. Thank you!
8/7/06 10:43 PM
Suziecreamcheese said...
As a beginning sewer just setting up my sewing room, I was considering purchasing an expensive notions basket. The fishing lure box is a great (and frugal) idea!
9/3/06 3:29 AM
kiddycat said...
Thanks for the tips! I am always looking for ways to get better organized, and ways to save $. Excellent!!!
11/13/07 6:17 PM
trishapatk said...
Thank you for a great list of concise and specific tips. Even the fact that so many of these things can be bought at one place, Walmart, is a big help.
5/14/08 9:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.