SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Remembering buttonhole sides for men/women shirts

Viewed 5751 times
Posted by: mutehorn
photo

 
 
About mutehorn
Member since: 2/3/11
Reviews written: 1
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/3/11 11:13 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
I hope no is offended by this, but believe me it's memorable.

"Picture a guy driving around with his girlfriend in the passenger seat. He can reach over and easily slip his hand into his girlfriend's blouse." (because the buttonholes always go down the right side on a woman's shirt), and vice versa.


<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MaggieMinnich said...
LOL...that's a good way to remember, but I argue with my hubby as to what difference it really makes anyhow?!
3/5/12 3:00 PM
cstroh said...
What a great tip...Made me smile.
5/21/11 11:09 AM
Princess Aurora said...
Did you know that button placement dates back to medieval times? The button of a man's cloak/cape was placed so that he could unbutton it with his left hand and draw his sword at the same time with his right hand. People who were left-handed were considered "of the devil." Women's buttons were placed the opposite direction because of nobility. Noble women often had another woman to dress them; since most were right handed the buttons were placed to allow the dressers to get their ladies dressed quickly. Where did I learn this? History of Fashion class (I couldn't believe such as class existed either!)
4/9/11 3:01 AM
fransews said...
well, it makes me laugh out loud, but I doubt I'll ever have to stop and think about it again. Thanks. !!
2/25/11 9:53 PM
Mellieluvssewing said...
I will always remember this one, got a chuckle from me. Read it to my mother and she got a kick from it! Thanks.
2/6/11 5:30 PM
kws said...
Only works for a guy driving in Non British countries.
2/5/11 2:16 PM
Annie- oh said...
This will change my ..."Women are always right..." to something more fun!
2/4/11 4:39 PM
Mufffet said...
HAHHAA....good one. Thanks.
2/4/11 10:45 AM
Debupp said...
Another way to remember is "Women are always right and men are left over"..... Ha
2/4/11 9:23 AM
Sharon1952 said...
Ha, ha, well that's a picture. But you know even after all these years I always have to stop and pretend to button my shirt to remember! Thanks for this memorable reminder.
2/4/11 6:54 AM
Pat1 said...
It is memorable for those of us who drive on the right (with vehicles with steering wheel on the left!). Not so much for UK, Australia and all of the other countries who drive on left with steering on right side!!
2/3/11 4:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.