SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Remembering buttonhole sides for men/women shirts

Viewed 5589 times
Posted by: mutehorn
photo

 
 
About mutehorn
Member since: 2/3/11
Reviews written: 1
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/3/11 11:13 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
I hope no is offended by this, but believe me it's memorable.

"Picture a guy driving around with his girlfriend in the passenger seat. He can reach over and easily slip his hand into his girlfriend's blouse." (because the buttonholes always go down the right side on a woman's shirt), and vice versa.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Pat1 said...
It is memorable for those of us who drive on the right (with vehicles with steering wheel on the left!). Not so much for UK, Australia and all of the other countries who drive on left with steering on right side!!
2/3/11 4:16 PM
Sharon1952 said...
Ha, ha, well that's a picture. But you know even after all these years I always have to stop and pretend to button my shirt to remember! Thanks for this memorable reminder.
2/4/11 6:54 AM
Debupp said...
Another way to remember is "Women are always right and men are left over"..... Ha
2/4/11 9:23 AM
Mufffet said...
HAHHAA....good one. Thanks.
2/4/11 10:45 AM
Annie- oh said...
This will change my ..."Women are always right..." to something more fun!
2/4/11 4:39 PM
kws said...
Only works for a guy driving in Non British countries.
2/5/11 2:16 PM
Mellieluvssewing said...
I will always remember this one, got a chuckle from me. Read it to my mother and she got a kick from it! Thanks.
2/6/11 5:30 PM
fransews said...
well, it makes me laugh out loud, but I doubt I'll ever have to stop and think about it again. Thanks. !!
2/25/11 9:53 PM
Princess Aurora said...
Did you know that button placement dates back to medieval times? The button of a man's cloak/cape was placed so that he could unbutton it with his left hand and draw his sword at the same time with his right hand. People who were left-handed were considered "of the devil." Women's buttons were placed the opposite direction because of nobility. Noble women often had another woman to dress them; since most were right handed the buttons were placed to allow the dressers to get their ladies dressed quickly. Where did I learn this? History of Fashion class (I couldn't believe such as class existed either!)
4/9/11 3:01 AM
cstroh said...
What a great tip...Made me smile.
5/21/11 11:09 AM
MaggieMinnich said...
LOL...that's a good way to remember, but I argue with my hubby as to what difference it really makes anyhow?!
3/5/12 3:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.