SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Mouse Pads for Sewing

Viewed 5263 times
Posted by: KMangum
photo

 
 
About KMangum
Member since: 2/9/03
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced
tips added: 2
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/1/03 0:36 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Use "cheap", soft mouse pads, the kind with a colored lycra on one side, and spongy foam on the other, about 1/4" thick, underneath your sewing machine/serger. I have two side by side underneath my sewing machine.

You can stick pins/needles into the pads without fear; scissors and other things won't roll off; and machines won't skitter or vibrate anymore!

In addition, I used an old wrist rest -- like the mouse pad above, but about an inch thick, 3" wide and 12" long -- under just the back of my machine to tilt it forward. This helps a lot to reduce neck strain and eyestrain. The combo of wrist rest/mouse pads is great - no slipping. No marks on the table, either.

When I lived upstairs in an apartment with wood floors, I cut two mousepads in half and put the halves underneath the legs of my sewing table to cut down the noise of the sewing machine for my downstairs neighbor!

These pads are commonly available for about $2 each, or frequently give-aways with company logos printed on. *Don't* use the ones with the hard surface.

(If you really are interested, a stack of 3 pads makes a great base for tooling designs in copper! Supportive, resilient and easy to manage. )

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Katharine in BXL said...
BRILLIANT! How clever! I will look out for those freebies and take them next time.
10/1/03 7:34 AM
Ruthie L said...
What a clever idea! I've tried just about everything to stop the vibration of my serger and this actually did the trick for me. Thank you so much!
10/1/03 10:34 PM
Sunflower Ann said...
What a neat idea! I volunteer at a Middle School in sewing classes. Mouse pads will be a great way for students to have pin cushions at their sewing machines! I'll cut up some old ones and each student can have their own pin cushion and it will save time at the end of class when we have to all search the floor for pins that have fallen! Thanks for a great idea! I'll also use it in my studio to deep under may machine. THANKS a Bunch
10/4/03 10:33 PM
ShereeSews said...
I love this tip, and plan to use your idea on tilting my machine forward. Thanks
10/5/03 7:39 AM
suncentaur said...
wow! thanks for the idea. I'm going to try it. My neck will probably love me for tilting the machine slightly like that. I've seen an expensive thing that tips your machine but this is a better , more economical solution.
10/9/03 4:18 AM
lhstitcher said...
What a great idea!! I'm definitely going to do this in my studio as I have several machines set up for the 4H beginning sewers, and this would help with the pins going everywhere!!
10/15/03 12:52 PM
Mother Superior said...
I use one for sticking pins in too! Using one to stop vibration and to tilt the machine forward is a fantastic idea though.
10/25/03 8:57 AM
Danielle Blais said...
Thanks a lot! You made my day! For the past year, I have fought with my serger that just wants to get off the table each time I run it a little bit to fast! I thought I would never see the end of it. Your idea solved the problem.
10/31/03 1:14 PM
moonfleur said...
Quote: "I have fought with my serger that just wants to get off the table each time I run it a little bit to fast! " Don't you just hate it when sewing machines get a mind of their own??? Mine occasionally decides to keep stitching after I say "whoa". Even turning it off does no good. I have to literally unplug it from the wall. I just want to know who installed the "free will" option on my Singer....
11/10/03 8:48 PM
Battgirl said...
Great idea, I am going to cut one in half and place a piece under my machine feet to stop them slicing away.
1/20/04 7:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.