SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Stabilizing Thin Fabric for Buttonholes

Viewed 5763 times
Posted by: barebear
photo

 
 
About barebear star
YT CANADA
Member since: 12/1/09
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 15 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/11/11 3:02 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
I've opted not to use interfacing on a blouse I'm making, but the fabric I'm using is quite thin and there's a lot of buttonholes. To prevent the thin fabric from getting pulled into the machine while sewing the buttonholes, I used a thin fusible hem webbing to stabilize the fabric.

The hem webbing I used was about 1 inch thick, so I cut 2 strips of it and basted them on either side of my fabric, over where the button hole was to go. Then I sewed the buttonhole as normal, and tore off the very thin hem web off of the buttonhole.

Buttonhole sewn over fusible hem web

I imagine that using left over pattern tissue would work just as well, as mentioned by Kim Winson here for stabilizing thin fabric during sewing.

If you want to see more pictures of the process (and want to read some of my babbling), come on over and check out my blog post on this tip. :)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
beejayem said...
Thanks, I would not have thought of just using multiple layers of fabric instead of some kind of stiffening inside. I like the ideas for decorating a belt also.
4/12/11 8:34 AM
beejayem said...

4/12/11 8:38 AM
beejayem said...
Whoops, I went on your website and also liked your help on making a belt(which I then went on to comment about instead of your buttonhole idea). Sorry for my mistake, but thanks for both! It's great to work with what we have at hand and the fusible hem web for buttonholes seemed to work well for you.
4/12/11 8:39 AM
abcameo said...
I went to your blog and tried to comment over there for your last tip/technique. I wasn't able to complete the submission process so I sent you a private message via patternreview. You haven't noticed that there's a message waiting yet. :) Amy
4/12/11 9:45 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
I have also used tearaway stabilizer. Thanks for the tip!
4/12/11 12:03 PM
barebear said...
Hi abcameo! I tried responding to your personal message, but I'm not a FoPR, so I guess maybe it didn't go through? I'm not sure how it all works. Anyways, thank you for the information, especially about the tips on marking fabric! I usually try to make due with what I have (hence the ballpoint pens), especially until I have a dedicated sewing space and a place to store notions, but I'll keep the tracing wheel and paper in mind! :)
4/12/11 5:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.