SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > fabric stash notebook

Viewed 5395 times
Posted by: adelaide original
photo

 
 
About adelaide original
UT USA
Member since: 10/2/09
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/8/11 8:47 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
I have created a fabric stash notebook for all the fabric in my stash. I cut a swatch from each piece of fabric. I glue it to a page in a spiral notebook. I write under it how much of the fabric I have and how wide it is. I also make notes about the fabric. I write things like fabric content, If this piece has be preshrunk and had the grain straightened, if it is a one way print or has two way stretch and the washing instructions. I make sure I do this before I put the fabric away even if I think I am going to use it right away because some times that does not happen. I keep this note book near my sewing machine. The other thing I do is I store each fabric piece in a plastic grocery store bag that is loosely tied shut so that I can see it easily. I write on the outside of the bag how much fabric there is and how wide it is and I write things like preshrunk or straight of grain on the bag. I use a permanent marks a lot type marker to do this because it writes well on plastic. I take my notebook with me when I want to Match thread, zippers, seam tape etc. to the fabric. I take advantage of thread and notion sales at fabric stores by taking my notebook with me and using it to make sure I have thread to match each piece of fabric I own. If I don't have thread to match the fabric I can't sew with it so I make sure that does not happen. I also use my notebook to decide about patterns I might be thinking about making. It has helped me greatly with making decisions about what projects to work on.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Gildarose said...
Thank you for sharing this ,very helpful!
5/8/11 9:51 PM
Charrlie said...
I really need to organize mine, sounds great and not very time consuming.
5/9/11 0:10 AM
rtrittel said...
great organizing tip - thanks!
5/9/11 0:48 AM
julstech said...
You can download a stash notebook template at the website for STITCH magazine. That is where I got the idea to make up my notebook.
5/9/11 7:35 AM
anika said...
I like the spiral notebook idea a lot. Very easy and transportable.
5/9/11 8:53 AM
LynnG said...
Do you have a link to the website. I've tried searching for the template and can't find it. Sounds like a great idea that I would like to give a try.
5/9/11 9:16 AM
Brine said...
Great idea about including all that relevant information for each swatch! I once did similar notebook (with much less information) with swatches from my wool fabric stash. I was surprised to find when I looked at it after several years that many of the swatches had mysteriously disappeared! I don't know if moths had gotten them or what had happened, but hereafter I will store the notebook in a sealed container!
5/9/11 12:31 PM
Katiat325 said...
This is a great idea, I will try this. Hopefully I won't procrastinate.
5/9/11 2:47 PM
KaSchu said...
This is a terrific tip. My swatches are pinned to a sheet of A4 paper with just the amounts written alongside. The notebook is a much better idea. Thanks!
5/10/11 7:28 AM
KaSchu said...

5/11/11 6:55 AM
KaSchu said...

5/11/11 6:58 AM
Corinneski said...
What a great idea! Currently my stash is limited to two plastic crates and I try to review my stash fairly often these days. I discovered a few months ago that I had fabric I had completely forgotten about plus I had multiples of very similar fabrics. A notebook would stop this problem. Thanks for the tip.
5/29/11 0:43 AM
janhem said...
What a brilliant idea I sometimes forget what I have in my stash I have so much that I have to keep it in the garden no room left in the house I keep it in a child's large plastic toy chest i am always rummaging through my stuff it makes my back ache so I'm gonna try this bit of what seems like magic thankyou
6/21/11 5:03 PM
PureJoy said...
I do exactly as you do, but on index cards. Great minds think alike!
2/26/14 3:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

The City Bag

The City Bag

Buy Now
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.