SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Limiting thread colors

Viewed 5369 times
Posted by: donaleen
photo

 
 
About donaleen
OR USA
Member since: 4/6/09
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/23/11 10:55 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
When I am sewing seams, I don't try for exact thread color matching. I have white, off white, two shades of gray and black. That works for most things, but not red. I learned to do that from a very experienced seamstress long ago...

That means that you don't have to invest in lots of thread for seams and it also means you don't need to do so many bobbins. But when the thread shows, like in top stitching, then I want color matching or color contrast selection.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Molliefran said...
Fabulous suggestion. Now, if I can only let go and do it!
5/24/11 11:57 AM
justgail said...
I have done similar for the serger thread (loopers only). I also have 2 shades of brown. I never thought about doing so for the regular sewing. Thanks!
5/24/11 1:05 PM
FloraNature said...
Great suggestion. Co-incidentally, today I was sorting out my thread collection, and found several large 5000m cones of overlocker/serger thread in shades of hot pink - what *was* I thinking of? !!!
5/24/11 6:11 PM
SewSewFunny said...
I had already been doing that, even though my thread-counting friends said it was not correct. Most period garments were sewn in neutral colors!
5/25/11 11:57 AM
carolrv said...
Great idea. I learned it from a quilting class. You sew so many different colors together, all you need is three shades of gray for most piecing. But I had never thought of that theory for garments.
5/26/11 7:57 AM
sewme47 said...
So clever!! Thank you. :)
6/26/11 11:50 AM
threadgenie said...
Love this! I think that many sewers (me included) worry too much about things that don't really matter that much. I keep multiple bobbins filled with black and white thread so I'm more likely to use one or the other rather than buying matching thread.
12/27/11 10:20 PM
Diihva said...
I also find "invisible" thread very efficient. I only have use one bobbin and because the transparent thread blends in with all fabrics, it's all I need. You can get some from most fabric stores
4/6/12 12:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.