SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > French Seam with the Serger/Overlocker

Viewed 5534 times
Posted by: newsewer2011
photo

 
 
About newsewer2011 star
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 7/3/09
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/6/11 7:03 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
I do french seams by doing the first seam with a rolled hem on the overlocker/serger with wrong sides together, then press and turn so that the right sides are together and then do the final 3/8" hem on the sewing machine as normal.

Saves the trimming of the first seam to 1/8" and less likely to unravel within the finished enclosed seam

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Pinkhouselady said...
Love doing French seams that way myself.
6/7/11 0:27 AM
MarianS said...
Thanks - I'm just starting a top that calls for French seams. I will definitely try this method. Sounds so much easier!
6/7/11 2:03 AM
KD in ATL said...
Good idea!
6/7/11 11:54 AM
cutter 43 said...
Do you need a special foot to do a rolled hem on your serger?
6/11/11 10:49 AM
newsewer2011 said...
cutter 43, I think it depends on your overlocker/serger. I have the bernina 800dl and its simply the flick of a switch, but my old one, i used to have to change the plate underneath the presser foot.
6/12/11 6:20 AM
cinca said...
I like it. Thanks for the tip.
6/13/11 7:00 PM
rebelina said...
Nice.
8/4/11 10:28 AM
Sew it seams said...
Very nice idea. Thanks!
8/4/11 9:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.