SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > French Seam with the Serger/Overlocker

Viewed 5501 times
Posted by: newsewer2011
photo

 
 
About newsewer2011 star
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 7/3/09
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/6/11 7:03 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
I do french seams by doing the first seam with a rolled hem on the overlocker/serger with wrong sides together, then press and turn so that the right sides are together and then do the final 3/8" hem on the sewing machine as normal.

Saves the trimming of the first seam to 1/8" and less likely to unravel within the finished enclosed seam

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Pinkhouselady said...
Love doing French seams that way myself.
6/7/11 0:27 AM
MarianS said...
Thanks - I'm just starting a top that calls for French seams. I will definitely try this method. Sounds so much easier!
6/7/11 2:03 AM
KD in ATL said...
Good idea!
6/7/11 11:54 AM
cutter 43 said...
Do you need a special foot to do a rolled hem on your serger?
6/11/11 10:49 AM
newsewer2011 said...
cutter 43, I think it depends on your overlocker/serger. I have the bernina 800dl and its simply the flick of a switch, but my old one, i used to have to change the plate underneath the presser foot.
6/12/11 6:20 AM
cinca said...
I like it. Thanks for the tip.
6/13/11 7:00 PM
rebelina said...
Nice.
8/4/11 10:28 AM
Sew it seams said...
Very nice idea. Thanks!
8/4/11 9:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

More Knits
More Knits

Register

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.