SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Sewing m/c needle organizing

Viewed 5708 times
Posted by: cstroh
photo

 
 
About cstroh star
AB CANADA
Member since: 3/12/11
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/12/11 10:14 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
I found finding the right sewing machine needle is not always easy so I took an embroidery thread organizer, the box with all the little squares, and sorted my needles into sections. I labeled each section so that I can easily find which needle I want. ie emboridery, ballpoint, size etc. I find it works really well. I hope this helps someone else. Reading the numbers with a magnifying glass can be time consuming and difficult.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
newsewer2011 said...
I need something like this - when you say embroidery box, is it sort of like a fishing tackle or a beading box?
6/12/11 9:12 PM
Mufffet said...
I think this is it - or the the DMC box like it: http://www.joann.com/joann/catalog/productdetail.jsp?pageName=search&flag=true&PRODID=prd38569
6/13/11 0:47 AM
newsewer2011 said...
ahh yes, thankyou - it wont be that cheap here in Sydney though LOL
6/13/11 3:22 AM
Princess Aurora said...
I do something similar, but instead of a box, I just use the tomato pincushion my mother gave me. Each section is marked with the needle size. I have two tomatoes; one for sharps and one for ballpoint.
6/13/11 10:59 PM
grey ann said...
I do the same thing, and may I add a tip: I labeled one section "In machine." When I take a needle out to put in my machine, I put that needle sleeve into that box. That way I know what is in the machine, and don't have to try to remember what I was sewing on.
6/14/11 8:46 PM
grey ann said...

6/14/11 8:47 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
I use low tack painters masking tape with the needle info scrawled on it, and stick it to my machine... good for this visual is good, memory is bad gal.
6/18/11 11:27 AM
NonieA1 said...
Thank you for this review. I was fortunate many years ago to purchase a needle organizer from Singer called Select-O-Pack-why this was discontinued I don't know as it is an excellent way to sort one's needles-knit,woven,special purpose.
6/19/11 4:14 PM
cstroh said...
to newsewer...yes it is similar to a tackle box, you can find them at Walmart pretty cheap. I like the idea of making a place for the needle in the m/c, or taping the description on the sewing m/c. Would really help with the memory problem...lol.
6/24/11 11:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.