SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Sewing m/c needle organizing

Viewed 5603 times
Posted by: cstroh
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cstroh star
AB CANADA
Member since: 3/12/11
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/12/11 10:14 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
I found finding the right sewing machine needle is not always easy so I took an embroidery thread organizer, the box with all the little squares, and sorted my needles into sections. I labeled each section so that I can easily find which needle I want. ie emboridery, ballpoint, size etc. I find it works really well. I hope this helps someone else. Reading the numbers with a magnifying glass can be time consuming and difficult.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
newsewer2011 said...
I need something like this - when you say embroidery box, is it sort of like a fishing tackle or a beading box?
6/12/11 9:12 PM
Mufffet said...
I think this is it - or the the DMC box like it: http://www.joann.com/joann/catalog/productdetail.jsp?pageName=search&flag=true&PRODID=prd38569
6/13/11 0:47 AM
newsewer2011 said...
ahh yes, thankyou - it wont be that cheap here in Sydney though LOL
6/13/11 3:22 AM
Princess Aurora said...
I do something similar, but instead of a box, I just use the tomato pincushion my mother gave me. Each section is marked with the needle size. I have two tomatoes; one for sharps and one for ballpoint.
6/13/11 10:59 PM
grey ann said...
I do the same thing, and may I add a tip: I labeled one section "In machine." When I take a needle out to put in my machine, I put that needle sleeve into that box. That way I know what is in the machine, and don't have to try to remember what I was sewing on.
6/14/11 8:46 PM
grey ann said...

6/14/11 8:47 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
I use low tack painters masking tape with the needle info scrawled on it, and stick it to my machine... good for this visual is good, memory is bad gal.
6/18/11 11:27 AM
NonieA1 said...
Thank you for this review. I was fortunate many years ago to purchase a needle organizer from Singer called Select-O-Pack-why this was discontinued I don't know as it is an excellent way to sort one's needles-knit,woven,special purpose.
6/19/11 4:14 PM
cstroh said...
to newsewer...yes it is similar to a tackle box, you can find them at Walmart pretty cheap. I like the idea of making a place for the needle in the m/c, or taping the description on the sewing m/c. Would really help with the memory problem...lol.
6/24/11 11:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.