SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Turkey baster for quick machine clean up

Viewed 5439 times
Posted by: purplebouquet
photo

 
 
About purplebouquet star
AR USA
Member since: 11/16/05
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/21/11 11:51 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 23 people   
What's a busy girl to do when her serger or sewing machine needs a quick cleaning of the nether parts, i.e., the area around the blades, the feed dog mechanism and bobbin? Use that scraggly cleaning brush? Doesn't do a good job.
Take a deep breath and blow? No, too much moisture.
Haul out the vacuum cleaner? No, too much work, and where is that attachment for tiny parts, anyway?
To the rescue: a turkey baster. A quick, but gentle blast of air and whoosh--all those pieces of lint are gone.

Claudia

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
koo104 said...
Very Cool!
6/22/11 0:02 AM
tatica said...
Nice idea!
6/22/11 8:26 AM
LynnG said...
Tips like this are why I enjoy reading them. So easy and no special equipment or expense. Thanks for the great tip.
6/22/11 9:27 AM
RLL said...
Wow, thats clever! I just tried it and it delivers a soft puff of air, just enough to remove the lint fibers left after sewing.
6/22/11 9:29 AM
mtgirl said...
Love this suggestion.Someone should write "100 ways to use a turkey baster".
6/22/11 4:50 PM
hopflower said...
Clever!
6/23/11 10:15 PM
chicagochef said...
perfect - no canned air - no spit - I love this idea.
7/4/11 11:27 AM
Rocknrob said...
What a clever idea, I tried this and it works great.
7/11/11 1:13 PM
Suetel said...
great tip
7/17/11 3:45 PM
machinelover said...
This is a super idea ! I threw out my cleaning brushes years ago and use real pipe cleaners to hook little bits of fluff out of all my machines. The baster will make the job go even faster !
8/18/11 8:40 PM
jeannemarie1 said...
good idea
9/27/11 0:42 AM
rusticady said...
Great idea!
9/29/11 12:27 PM
CharlotteModiste said...
Very good, Thanks!!!
11/21/11 11:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.