SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Turkey baster for quick machine clean up

Viewed 5603 times
Posted by: purplebouquet
photo

 
 
About purplebouquet star
AR USA
Member since: 11/16/05
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/21/11 11:51 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 23 people   
What's a busy girl to do when her serger or sewing machine needs a quick cleaning of the nether parts, i.e., the area around the blades, the feed dog mechanism and bobbin? Use that scraggly cleaning brush? Doesn't do a good job.
Take a deep breath and blow? No, too much moisture.
Haul out the vacuum cleaner? No, too much work, and where is that attachment for tiny parts, anyway?
To the rescue: a turkey baster. A quick, but gentle blast of air and whoosh--all those pieces of lint are gone.

Claudia

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

So Vintage Patterns


Thank You for Joining!
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
CharlotteModiste said...
Very good, Thanks!!!
11/21/11 11:08 PM
rusticady said...
Great idea!
9/29/11 12:27 PM
jeannemarie1 said...
good idea
9/27/11 0:42 AM
machinelover said...
This is a super idea ! I threw out my cleaning brushes years ago and use real pipe cleaners to hook little bits of fluff out of all my machines. The baster will make the job go even faster !
8/18/11 8:40 PM
Suetel said...
great tip
7/17/11 3:45 PM
Rocknrob said...
What a clever idea, I tried this and it works great.
7/11/11 1:13 PM
chicagochef said...
perfect - no canned air - no spit - I love this idea.
7/4/11 11:27 AM
hopflower said...
Clever!
6/23/11 10:15 PM
mtgirl said...
Love this suggestion.Someone should write "100 ways to use a turkey baster".
6/22/11 4:50 PM
RLL said...
Wow, thats clever! I just tried it and it delivers a soft puff of air, just enough to remove the lint fibers left after sewing.
6/22/11 9:29 AM
LynnG said...
Tips like this are why I enjoy reading them. So easy and no special equipment or expense. Thanks for the great tip.
6/22/11 9:27 AM
tatica said...
Nice idea!
6/22/11 8:26 AM
koo104 said...
Very Cool!
6/22/11 0:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Buy Now
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.