SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Low-Tech Bust Apex Locater

Viewed 5529 times
Posted by: Donna Isler
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Donna Isler
Member since: 6/10/03
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 3
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/8/03 12:29 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
I used to do all this measuring to make sure the apex position was correctly marked on my patterns. One day I just held the bodice piece up to my body in front of a mirror, making sure the center front and shoulder seam lines were in the right places and put a magic marker dot at the correct place on the pattern. This has never failed to work beautifully! ALSO - when I had finished adjusting my dress form, I just moved up close to it front-on until the outermost area of my bust (okay, the nipples) touched the form and boom, marked those two spots. Simple minded or ingenius, I ask you! (Don't answer that)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Enid E said...
Good Idea..You are a woman after my own heart! This is something I would do and I will try this one for sure.
10/8/03 4:22 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I do this too! Surely we are geniuses!
10/8/03 4:33 PM
Enid E said...
Yes ! we are...simplicity in it's truest form(No pun intended)!
10/8/03 7:38 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I do this as well. Measurments seem to be too tedious when it comes to the bustline! We aren't simple minded, we just use what "comes naturally" to help in the sewing proces (pun intended)
10/16/03 5:36 PM
Helen Hayes said...
You bet. My bust is **always** lower. I pin the seam allow back, pin the line to top of my sholder, straighten out the CF, smooth it down and mark. Just as you said, works like a charm.
10/25/03 9:29 PM
thaiyal said...
This is a wonderful idea! I dont have a magic marker... But I can out these sticky dots...This tip will help me with my fitting! Thank you very much!
12/9/05 7:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.