SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Making a waistband extension

Viewed 5693 times
Posted by: MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarb starstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 73 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/11/11 8:58 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This is a simple way to get 3/4 to 1 inch more out of a too-tight waistband.

Make a fabric tab slightly smaller in width than the waistband by about 1.5 inches. Unstitch the waistband center front seam, slip the tab inside leaving about an inch or more showing. The tab size will depend on the width of waistband and size of snap or button. Top stitch the seam closed. Apply the upper snap or buttonhole (you can do this before inserting tab into waistband) to the tab.

The photo does a better job of explaining.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
LynnG said...
Great tip! Your tab is very neat and looks like it was planned.
7/12/11 9:37 AM
LynnG said...
Double post. Sorry.
7/12/11 9:37 AM
elsew said...
What a neat trick....so glad you included the photo...this can easily be used at the side and back seam also. You are a genius!
7/12/11 3:46 PM
quathy said...
Clever, and cute! What a great idea!
7/12/11 6:40 PM
Texastopaz said...
Great idea! I have a pair of RTW shorts that will get this done tomorrow.
7/12/11 11:02 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I have been mulling over a fix for a pair I bought that are a teeny bit snug in the waist but fit well everywhere else. This is a beautiful solution I haven't seen before. Previous poster is right -you are a genius for thinking this up.
7/13/11 1:48 PM
Patti B said...
Brilliant! And, if you want to be really quick, a doubled piece of grosgrain or petersham ribbon works well too -- don't ask me how I know!
7/16/11 10:06 AM
Susan M said...
Clever! This sounds like necessity was the mother of this invention
7/16/11 7:49 PM
marec said...
Barb, I like this tip! You could even expand (haha) this to include elastic and 2 buttons, or snaps for use at Thanksgiving.
7/16/11 9:17 PM
vrani said...
Thanks for the very good tip.Looks very neat and professional. I will definitely use this method.
8/13/11 11:52 AM
jeannemarie1 said...
great for someone who has gained weight
9/27/11 0:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.