SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > easy gathering

Viewed 5462 times
Posted by: Passion4Sewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Passion4Sewing starstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/21/08
Reviews written: 225
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 30 people
tips added: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/24/11 9:06 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I have discovered an easy way to gather. I bought a new serger (Juki MO654-DE). I bought a foot for it to use for fish line hems, and decided it would work for gathering. I have a cone of upholstery weight thread I use for gathering. I ran this tread thru the hole in the cording foot. I swung the cutting blade away and serged with long stitches over the upholstery thread. Be sure to secure one end of pull-thread and start pulling to gather at opposite end. It gathers very smoothly and quickly with this method.
I figured out this method just in time for all these gathers. It saves a lot of time!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MarianS said...
Thanks for the great gathering tip. I don't have a cording foot, but I will try it with the regular foot. I think that should work. Beautiful dress!
7/25/11 9:59 AM
RLL said...
That does sound like it could make a tedious job quicker.
7/25/11 1:02 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
If you know that your piece will need to be gathered alot, you can speed the process by upping the differential feed to 2, so that the serger gathers the fabric "auto-magically" while stitching over the cord. When finished, you can then use to cord (as suggested in the tip above) to gather it more if necessary.
8/7/11 2:49 PM
Gail in Western WA said...
I've sometimes zigzagged over buttonhole thread for long or heavy gathering, but the serger, the cording foot -- Nice! Faster and more accurate. Thanks.
8/19/11 9:42 PM
gaza said...
big help as I make rock n roll pettie coats for my wife with lots of gathering
8/29/11 6:39 PM
jeannemarie1 said...
could i do this with a sewing machine with the same idea?
9/27/11 0:34 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
Jeannemarie-sure, A serger is just a lot faster :-)
9/27/11 7:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.