Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
shortening Burda patterns (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5257 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
Posted by: els
photo
About els starstar
NA NETHERLANDS
Member since: 1/28/03
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 49 people
tips added: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/8/03 7:12 PM
Last Updated: 1/1/07 1:35 PM
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Burda patterns are made for people who are 5.5 tall,if you are shorter say 5.2 you can shortening the patternparts at the way Burda describes.It is written in German but because of the pictures I think it is usefull to add this technique.
1 Centimeters = 3/8 Inche

I tried to translate the next German ( Burda) text in English hope it will help you to find where the lines must be drawn to shortening or lenghtening the pattern to get the right size you need.

Das Wichtigste gleich vorweg: Die Įderungslinien (unterbrochene Linien) m?im rechten Winkel zum Fadenlauf eingezeichnet werden, sonst geraten die Schnittteile aus der "Balance".
? Bei Kleidern, Jacken, Blusen und M䮴eln gilt: In halber Armausschnitth?und zwischen Armausschnitt und Taille k?(1).
? Damit der IJmel wieder in den Armausschnitt passt, muss auch die IJmelkugel entsprechend gek?erden (2, rechts).
? IJmel mit flacher IJmelkugel an den N䨴en, verlaufend bis zur unteren Kante, enger machen (2 rechts).
? Hosen werden an der oberen Querlinie um 1 cm, die Beinl䮧e wird je zur H䬦te ober- und unterhalb des Knies gek?3).
? R? in H?e k? Werden sie nach unten enger oder weiter, die L䮧e in halber Oberschenkelh?regulieren.


Alterations the shortening, lengthening lines must be draft at right angles from straight of grain, otherwise the balance is wrong.

For a dress, jacket, blouse and coat shorten or length the pattern halfway the armhole, and halfway the armhole and the waist.
The sleeve has to be altered too, because it has to fit in the new armhole.
Flat cap sleeves: reduce the sleeve seam from the under armhole tapering to the hemline.
For a high cap sleeve draw a line in the cap of the sleeve like the drawing shows.
Pants are altered halfway the crotch lenght and halfway the crotch and knee, and halfway the knee and hemline.
Skirts alter at hipline, if you want the skirt hemline wider or narrower than you can alter beneath the hip but above the knee .
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Katharine in BXL said...
Thanks els! I'm 156 cm tall (!), or should I say SHORT! (Almost 5'1). Klein maar fijn!
10/9/03 1:29 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks for including a link to this page Els. Its really helpful I am 5'3" and I always have to make these modifications though I've seen that I can get away without any alterations in the pants.
10/10/03 9:20 AM
Irene said...
Great info, els! I'm eight inches shorter than Burda's typical height, so I will USE this!
10/10/03 10:17 PM
KMangum said...
When shortening, make sure to take into account *where* to shorten. Short torso, short crotch depth, or short legs? Petite individuals may have "pattern-normal" torso length but short crotch depth, or vice-versa.
10/13/03 6:08 PM
Lucia/Lyonel said...
Burda now has a page in English on shortening patterns. Here is the URL: http://www.burdafashion.com/en/Service/1000001-1021872-1021875.html
4/12/08 10:05 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us