SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Electrify your lining fabric -for easy cutting

Viewed 5457 times
Posted by: iSewQuiltArt
photo

 
 
About iSewQuiltArt star
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/4/08
Reviews written: 104
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/19/11 4:38 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 32 people   
I want to share something I learned today cutting out lining fabric made of a slippery polyester. My dining room table has an inexpensive clear vinyl table protector over it (we have kids!) and I noticed when I laid out the Sun Silky poly lining on the table and smoothed in in place, it was almost sucked down flat to the table with static electricity! When I placed my old cut-apart lining from a RTW favourite skirt on top to mark new pieces, it too sat beautifully flat like magic!
When cutting out the lining, rather than sliding its way all over the place, as I cut with micro serrated scissors, it was so well behaved I couldn't believe it- and thought this would make a great tip for PR.
I am thinking I'm going to buy some more vinyl to put on my cutting table for those slippery poly and silk fabrics with minds of their own. Bring on the static attraction!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


22 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
lca said...
What a great discovery! I'm going to try this.
8/19/11 4:22 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
Great tip!
8/20/11 0:07 AM
newmama said...
Great idea! I think I read in a review somewhere that a similar thing happens with fleece. I have both vinyl and fleece on hand so I need to remember to give this a try!
8/20/11 6:15 AM
Tarrbaby said...
Terrific tip -I work at a bridal shop with a 15 foot cutting table and we sew lots of silky slippery fabric will mention to the boss. Thanks.
8/20/11 8:59 AM
SewPerfect said...
Interesting idea, will have to try this! Thanks for posting.
8/20/11 9:29 AM
Merry G said...
Sew cool...tks
8/20/11 10:53 AM
Merry G said...
Sew cool...tks
8/20/11 10:55 AM
Merry G said...
Sew cool...tks
8/20/11 10:55 AM
Cherylsews said...
This is a great tip! Will try this.
8/20/11 1:19 PM
Brine said...
I'll be sure to try this!
8/20/11 2:26 PM
MegquiltsinVT said...
You are genius! I, too, will get some electrickery!
8/21/11 6:45 AM
Barbara said...
Great Tip!
8/22/11 8:53 AM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Yes it really does work, and I want to be sure you know to try the cheap plastic vinyl stuff, not the really expensive one. I don't know if it would make any difference to static generating properties but it might. And, because you could slice into it with scissors or prick with pins you're not out so much $ if your piece eventually needs replacing.
8/25/11 0:59 AM
annenet said...
Great idea!
8/25/11 11:00 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Awesome tip!
8/26/11 10:36 AM
kathi s said...
Thank you! Great tip!
8/27/11 2:04 AM
purplebouquet said...
This technique might also work with those big yard trash bags. You'd have to use several to cover the whole table.
9/1/11 10:27 AM
Libbee said...
Love this one!
9/5/11 9:22 PM
iSewQuiltArt said...
I don't know about the yard trash bags idea. My vinyl is quite stiff - much stiffer than a plastic bag. Its also vinyl, not polyethylene or other plastics...and isnt' easy to pin into as a plastic bag certainly would be. You want to be able to pin your pattern to your lining and have the pins not catch into the vinyl as well.
9/6/11 3:34 AM
threadgenie said...
Oh, I can't wait to try this. I absolutely HATE working with slippery static fabric.
9/8/11 7:09 PM
Susan M said...
Wow! This is a brilliant discovery. Thanks for sharing.
9/13/11 2:39 PM
jeannemarie1 said...
good tip. i plan to cut sher fabric to make a dress
9/30/11 0:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.