SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Electrify your lining fabric -for easy cutting

Viewed 5623 times
Posted by: iSewQuiltArt
photo

 
 
About iSewQuiltArt star
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/4/08
Reviews written: 105
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 25 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/19/11 4:38 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 33 people   
I want to share something I learned today cutting out lining fabric made of a slippery polyester. My dining room table has an inexpensive clear vinyl table protector over it (we have kids!) and I noticed when I laid out the Sun Silky poly lining on the table and smoothed in in place, it was almost sucked down flat to the table with static electricity! When I placed my old cut-apart lining from a RTW favourite skirt on top to mark new pieces, it too sat beautifully flat like magic!
When cutting out the lining, rather than sliding its way all over the place, as I cut with micro serrated scissors, it was so well behaved I couldn't believe it- and thought this would make a great tip for PR.
I am thinking I'm going to buy some more vinyl to put on my cutting table for those slippery poly and silk fabrics with minds of their own. Bring on the static attraction!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


23 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mc Donna said...
My favorite coat needs a new lining and I've been putting it off. Thank you for this very helpful tip!
12/20/14 6:55 AM
jeannemarie1 said...
good tip. i plan to cut sher fabric to make a dress
9/30/11 0:26 AM
Susan M said...
Wow! This is a brilliant discovery. Thanks for sharing.
9/13/11 2:39 PM
threadgenie said...
Oh, I can't wait to try this. I absolutely HATE working with slippery static fabric.
9/8/11 7:09 PM
iSewQuiltArt said...
I don't know about the yard trash bags idea. My vinyl is quite stiff - much stiffer than a plastic bag. Its also vinyl, not polyethylene or other plastics...and isnt' easy to pin into as a plastic bag certainly would be. You want to be able to pin your pattern to your lining and have the pins not catch into the vinyl as well.
9/6/11 3:34 AM
Libbee said...
Love this one!
9/5/11 9:22 PM
purplebouquet said...
This technique might also work with those big yard trash bags. You'd have to use several to cover the whole table.
9/1/11 10:27 AM
kathi s said...
Thank you! Great tip!
8/27/11 2:04 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Awesome tip!
8/26/11 10:36 AM
annenet said...
Great idea!
8/25/11 11:00 AM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Yes it really does work, and I want to be sure you know to try the cheap plastic vinyl stuff, not the really expensive one. I don't know if it would make any difference to static generating properties but it might. And, because you could slice into it with scissors or prick with pins you're not out so much $ if your piece eventually needs replacing.
8/25/11 0:59 AM
Barbara said...
Great Tip!
8/22/11 8:53 AM
MegquiltsinVT said...
You are genius! I, too, will get some electrickery!
8/21/11 6:45 AM
Brine said...
I'll be sure to try this!
8/20/11 2:26 PM
Cherylsews said...
This is a great tip! Will try this.
8/20/11 1:19 PM
Merry G said...
Sew cool...tks
8/20/11 10:55 AM
Merry G said...
Sew cool...tks
8/20/11 10:55 AM
Merry G said...
Sew cool...tks
8/20/11 10:53 AM
SewPerfect said...
Interesting idea, will have to try this! Thanks for posting.
8/20/11 9:29 AM
Tarrbaby said...
Terrific tip -I work at a bridal shop with a 15 foot cutting table and we sew lots of silky slippery fabric will mention to the boss. Thanks.
8/20/11 8:59 AM
newmama said...
Great idea! I think I read in a review somewhere that a similar thing happens with fleece. I have both vinyl and fleece on hand so I need to remember to give this a try!
8/20/11 6:15 AM
Elaine Dougan said...
Great tip!
8/20/11 0:07 AM
lca said...
What a great discovery! I'm going to try this.
8/19/11 4:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.