Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sew Retro with Gretchen Hirsh - Perfect Fit Bombshell Dress (Online Sewing Class)
Viewed 5321 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Posted by: Casual Kate
photo
About Casual Kate
Member since: 2/27/11
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
classes reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/26/11 0:55 AM
Rating: starstarstar
Web site/URL: photo
This class has been insanely popular and the talk of all the sewing blogs since Gretchen rolled it out a couple months ago. I can't believe no one has reviewed it here yet.
This is the first sewing class I've taken since high school Home Ec 35 years ago, and now I am utterly spoiled. This class is fantastic!

Topic:
Gretchen, a well-known blogger and talented sewist with an interest in couture techniques, teaches how to create a 50's-style bombshell dress, aka the Shaheen Dream style. This is a strapless, form-fitting dress with a boned bustier top and wrap sarong-style skirt. The pattern used is from Burda (included in the cost of the course) but many other pattern suggestions are offered.

The course is made up of 15 video lessons. In addition to some basics that not all of us actually know about, like cutting out patterns that don't have seam allowances, many intermediate and advanced construction techniques are covered in this one project, in particular some features you would expect to find in a true vintage garment. I was surprised how much I learned: bodice fitting with a muslin, thread tracing, underlining, attachment of steel boning (it's actually very simple!), seam finishes, lapped zipper, hem finishes.

I never expected to have a wearable dress from the class, I was mostly looking for some instruction and perhaps inspiration. I mean, I'm a bit past the age for wearing sleeveless even, so there was no way I was going to go strapless. But this dress I've created by following the course is beautiful, fits me perfectly, and is nicely finished with all those lovely vintage features. So yes, I will wear it (with a little bitty bolero over the arms!)

Presentation/Presenter: I can not imagine a better teacher than Gretchen. Her instructions are succinct, accurate, and easy to follow. Each step is demonstrated with the garment she is working on or on a finished garment of the same style. Plenty of closeups of work at the machine help to illustrate exactly how to control the fabric. But the best part is Gretchen herself, who while explaining complex concepts remains down-to-earth, friendly, and funny. She even has little uh-oh moments which are quite humorous and serve as further instruction for the viewer.

The Craftsy administrators and Gretchen monitor the discussion board and respond quickly to questions and comments. And the discussion pages now contain all of the Q&A from previous students so it's likely you'll find the answers to most questions already posted there.

Platform: Craftsy is an interactive online platform with video lessons, downloadable pdf materials, and live course discussions. There are other courses available but I have not looked into them yet. I found Craftsy very easy to use from the initial registration right through to the end of the lessons. Ocassionally there was a delay between my posting a comment or photo - probably administrators reviewing it - and I couldn't tell whether it had been uploaded. That was my only very minor complaint about the entire experience.


Cost: Full price is $59, but Craftsy is usually running a special for $30 or $35 and many sewing blogs offer a discount code.

Summary: Take this class, you will love it!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Denise L Perry said...
Great review! Thanks!
8/27/11 5:34 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, thanks for the review. I keep seeing this class offered and wonder about it. :)
8/27/11 9:12 AM
sewgirl845 said...
I'm so glad you reviewed this class. I was browsing it the other day and on the fence about signing up. I think I will now!
8/27/11 5:50 PM
anika said...
Thank you so much for this review. I had done a sew along with Gertie a while back and learned so much. I had passed this course by as my bomb has long since left the shell. However, I may have to reconsider after your glowing review. I hope you're going to post a pic of you in your creation!
8/29/11 12:09 PM
sewky said...
I enrolled in this course and could not have been happier with the outcome. The techniques Gretchen teaches can be used in any garmet so I found it helpful. A light bulb went off in my head when I watched her fit the muslin for a fuller cup size. I've read books on this but never got the alterations just right. I did the alternations, step by step, while watching the tutorial and the fit was wonderful. Have recommended this course to my sewing friends.
9/8/11 4:45 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us