SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Using blindstitch on knits

Viewed 5199 times
Posted by: Gigi Louis
photo

 
 
About Gigi Louis starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/4/02
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 251 people
tips added: 17
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/12/03 4:18 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
As I was finishing up a top in a space-dyed knit today I realized that this tip has never been brought up here on PR. Did you know that a blindstitch machine (such as the Tac-Sew T-500) makes a great, stretchy hem on knits? I know we always focus on using a zigzag, double-needle or coverstitch but sometimes a particular fabric needs an invisible hem. Doing it by hand often results in thread breakage and so isn't too practical. I use a fine needle, serger thread and set the machine to no-skip.

My friend Sharon even uses her blindstitch to finish necklines on knits for a neat, invisible finish without a bulky facing.

Additionally, I know that some conventional machines have a stretch blind hem (done with two different widths of zigzag) which is also great to use if you don't happen to have a blindstitch machine.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Tessa said...
Gigi, for the neckline do you mean folding under a hem and then blindstitching it? I'm not sure how this would work. Could you explain more? Thanks, Tessa
11/20/03 10:02 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Tessa, you would serge-finish the raw edge and turn it in once. Sharon and I both agree that it's much easier to do a quick machine-baste so that the narrow little hem doesn't scoot around. Then you would blindstitch all around and finally removing the basting.
11/21/03 9:29 AM
Tessa said...
Thanks, Gigi. Just to make sure I've got it, you just turn under the quarter inch or so that's serged, making a very narrow hem? Is that right?
11/21/03 10:55 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Tessa, I usually turn in a little more than that - a fat 3/8". It's a little easier to work with that way and you don't have to worry about the serging showing at the edge.
11/21/03 1:16 PM
Tessa said...
Thanks, it's clear now!
11/26/03 9:10 AM
cecelia said...
This stitch is so simple when you get it down, but it took me a while to figure it out with the instructions I had. Thanks!
6/7/06 12:31 PM
Msews2 said...
Gigi--Thank you for the neckline tip! (I only wish I'd seen it before completing the facings on a knit dress). I have the conventional machine with a stretch blind hem option, so I'm going to try it on my next knit project.
2/5/07 10:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.