SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Using blindstitch on knits

Viewed 5170 times
Posted by: Gigi Louis
photo

 
 
About Gigi Louis starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/4/02
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 251 people
tips added: 17
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/12/03 4:18 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
As I was finishing up a top in a space-dyed knit today I realized that this tip has never been brought up here on PR. Did you know that a blindstitch machine (such as the Tac-Sew T-500) makes a great, stretchy hem on knits? I know we always focus on using a zigzag, double-needle or coverstitch but sometimes a particular fabric needs an invisible hem. Doing it by hand often results in thread breakage and so isn't too practical. I use a fine needle, serger thread and set the machine to no-skip.

My friend Sharon even uses her blindstitch to finish necklines on knits for a neat, invisible finish without a bulky facing.

Additionally, I know that some conventional machines have a stretch blind hem (done with two different widths of zigzag) which is also great to use if you don't happen to have a blindstitch machine.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Tessa said...
Gigi, for the neckline do you mean folding under a hem and then blindstitching it? I'm not sure how this would work. Could you explain more? Thanks, Tessa
11/20/03 10:02 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Tessa, you would serge-finish the raw edge and turn it in once. Sharon and I both agree that it's much easier to do a quick machine-baste so that the narrow little hem doesn't scoot around. Then you would blindstitch all around and finally removing the basting.
11/21/03 9:29 AM
Tessa said...
Thanks, Gigi. Just to make sure I've got it, you just turn under the quarter inch or so that's serged, making a very narrow hem? Is that right?
11/21/03 10:55 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Tessa, I usually turn in a little more than that - a fat 3/8". It's a little easier to work with that way and you don't have to worry about the serging showing at the edge.
11/21/03 1:16 PM
Tessa said...
Thanks, it's clear now!
11/26/03 9:10 AM
cecelia said...
This stitch is so simple when you get it down, but it took me a while to figure it out with the instructions I had. Thanks!
6/7/06 12:31 PM
Msews2 said...
Gigi--Thank you for the neckline tip! (I only wish I'd seen it before completing the facings on a knit dress). I have the conventional machine with a stretch blind hem option, so I'm going to try it on my next knit project.
2/5/07 10:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.