Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sew Retro with Gretchen Hirsch - Perfect Fit Bombshell Dress (Online Sewing Class)
Viewed 5656 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Posted by: Miss Trix
photo
About Miss Trix
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/25/11
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
classes reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/25/11 10:46 PM
Last Updated: 4/19/14 1:11 AM
Rating: starstarstar
Web site/URL: photo
As a retro-lovin' dressmaking gal, I've followed Gertie's blog for a couple of years. I was delighted when she launched her Sew Retro online course at Craftsy: Perfect Fit Bombshell Dress. I had planned to simply watch Gertie's videos, but realised I needed to stitch along to get the full benefits of the fine-tuned fitting lessons.

When I found a fabric with a retro Hawaiian vibe, I thought it would suit the brief perfectly, and ploughed into the 15 lessons. I watched the first few lesssons, then went about downloading the pattern, piecing it together, and working on the muslin.

The Burdastyle pattern we use as the basis for the 50s-style bombshell dress is a little er, impoverished in the bust coverage department (the bra cups would barely accommodate cupcakes!), so the lessons on adjusting for a "full bust" were so helpful. It's a very step-by-step process to tracing your pattern, making and adjusting the muslin, then transferring the adjustments to your pattern before ever taking the scissors near your fashion fabric.

Gertie delivers the lessons in a chatty, lemme-walk-you-thru-it style, making everything easy to understand. I became quite accustomed to her NY accent accompanying my sewing sessions! Even if you're an experienced home dressmaker, you will pick up great tips and methods. I've sewn for many years, but I hadn't previously worked with marking the seamlines (rather than working in from seam allowances) but this method can save time if you are likely to need tweaks and/or adjustments.

The Craftsy platform is very easy to use. You can watch previews of the course, and there's a link on Gertie's Blog for a 50% discount on the price, which included the cost of the pattern. I thought that was good value.

The lessons are divided into chapters and you can make you own notes at any point in the videos and they will be bookmarked for later. This is helpful, because at times the videos could perhaps have used some judicious editing.

So, do take your time and enjoy the process. Don't set a deadline to complete your dress in 2 days for the annual Tiki Tour, as that could end in tears! The most valuable thing I took away was the confidence to make detailed pattern adjustments and create a very fitted, comfortable, retro-cool dress.

Edit: Here's a pic of my dress.
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SusiM said...
Thanks for the information. I wondered how it worked.
9/26/11 2:24 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Thanks. I've been wondering about this too.
9/26/11 2:51 AM
anika said...
Thanks for the review. I'd love to see your finished dress!
9/26/11 8:27 AM
Jeffer said...
Thanks for the review! I have followed Gertie's blog too since I love vintage styles and wondered about her online class. This past Saturday, I was at the American Sewing Expo in Novi MI and immediately recognized Gertie who was a finalist for their Passion for Fashion contest. This year, each finalist was randomly assigned a movie poster for inspiration and Gertie got the movie Frida. I'm pretty sure that movie was set in the 1950's in Mexico since, when I saw her project in-process, the skirt had a definite 50's/Mexican vibe and the top was pure Gertie, some sort of corset-like strapless top with a cute shrug over the shoulders. She did a fabulous job of selecting the fabric for the skirt. I don't know if she won the contest because unfortunately, I had to leave ASE before the 6PM runway and winner announcement.
9/26/11 11:32 AM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for the great review. I saw the advertisement for this class a while ago and was intrigued. I think I'll take a second look!
9/26/11 8:02 PM
Deb Bee said...
I have signed up for this class, and even though I haven't found time to actually make the dress yet - I have learned quite a lot. The production values and are excellent. Camera angles on the sewing machine stitches and Gertie's hand sewing are the best I have seen. The best thing about it is that you can access this class indefinitely. This is great for me as I can continue to refer back to it until I actually can get the dress made!
10/20/11 6:07 PM
Shikisew said...
Now THAT is a hot dress!
11/26/11 8:40 PM
anika said...
Wow, your dress is fantastic. Congratulations!
4/3/12 12:00 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us