SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Hemming Jeans

Viewed 5475 times
Posted by: PattiAnnJ
photo

 
 
About PattiAnnJ star
Member since: 12/3/06
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 18
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/10/11 9:14 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Web site/URL: photo
When a sixty something grandma can amaze a 20 year old grandson, that has to be a good thing!

The favorite jeans were hemmed without loosing any of their acquired "trend".

Not originally my idea. Found the tutorial at Kozy Kitty Blog.

Give it a try. I think you too will be amazed.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


16 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Laurie Lou said...
I actually did hem a pair like this just recently and it really does work slick. Great that you found a tutorial online for it. I like the zipper foot idea too as it works quite well getting in close. With all the "worn" look to jeans you hate to cut them off and put on a "fresh" hem so this is an excellent idea to retain that great worn looking hem.
10/10/11 2:26 PM
Nancy Mac said...
Thanks so much for sharing this. It keeps the integrity of the jeans. Sometimes it's hard to match the thread color. As one who always has to shorten, I will remember this for jeans and casual pants.
10/10/11 9:24 PM
vasallese said...
That was neat! Thanks for supplying the tutorial.
10/11/11 0:21 AM
SandyinMO said...
I do alterations and hemming jeans is one thing I do quite a bit of. I'm going to give this a try next time. It would definitely be easier when just shortening a little bit instead of taking the existing hem out. It would not work well with very flared or tapered legs, but with straight legs it should work fine.
10/11/11 8:30 AM
purplebouquet said...
This looks like a good technique, but doesn't the excess fabric create bulk on the inside of the leg? And how do I prevent this inside fold from being pushed below the hem when I insert my leg? (I kinda jump into my jeans full-force.) Does it stay in its upturned position by itself or does it need to be tacked into place on the inside and outside side seams?
10/11/11 11:03 AM
Mollie16 said...
Do you have a web address for this site?
10/11/11 11:39 AM
Pamela R said...
Thankyou, I have often wonderd aboutthe technique. Pam
10/11/11 12:56 PM
Karine said...
Brilliant! Thanks for sharing
10/11/11 5:07 PM
tutty said...
How do I find this site ? www.kozykitty.com ?
10/11/11 6:44 PM
tutty said...
How do I find this site ? www.kozykitty.com ?
10/11/11 6:44 PM
Kiwikid said...
http://home.comcast.net/~kozykitty/blog/originalhem.pdf
10/11/11 10:31 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Your link is brilliant! Thanks this is super helpful.
10/16/11 8:33 AM
landstromd said...
Okay, that looks fantastic! I just happen to have a pair of jeans that need hemming, I can't wait!
2/22/12 11:07 PM
MaggieMinnich said...
Awesome!
3/5/12 2:46 PM
PattiAnnJ said...
purplebonnet - if you read the entire tutorial, at the end the author suggests serging away the excess. I did not do this. Instead, I stitched vertically here and there (between the lines of the twill texture) to keep the fold out of the way of the foot.
8/18/12 4:19 PM
PattiAnnJ said...
purplebonnet - if you read the entire tutorial, at the end the author suggests serging away the excess. I did not do this. Instead, I stitched vertically here and there (between the lines of the twill texture) to keep the fold out of the way of the foot.
8/18/12 4:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Buy Now
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.