SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Jeweled Ornaments/Buttons for Garments

Viewed 5299 times
Posted by: KMangum
photo

 
 
About KMangum
Member since: 2/9/03
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced
tips added: 2
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/18/03 12:44 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Need jeweled Dress Clips for a 30's style gown? How about stunning buttons for a jacket?

Use a jeweled STRETCH BRACELET. They are very popular right now -- usually metal filigree shapes with colored enamel and rhinestones, strung on 1 or 2 elastic threads.

Cut the bracelet apart, and use the metal shapes. THere are plenty of holes to sew thru!

For BUTTONS: You'll have to create either a thread shank, or use the loop of a metal hook and eye and sew that to the filigree shape. I recommend that you make two sets of buttonholes in your garment front, and sew the buttons onto a piece of grosgrain (button thru holes on both bottom and top). I would NOT recommend washing OR drycleaning these!

For ORNAMENTS: Sew using only a few stitches, or sew onto a piece of hook & loop tape (hook part), and a spot of loop tape onto the garment, or onto halves of a large snap. (You'll *have to REMOVE THESE FOR CLEANING the garment*.)

I got a fab bracelet from Target for $12. Cut apart, it yielded 7 large "squares" and 8 smaller "ovals". That's 15 "buttons" - a pretty good deal ! I used 3 pieces for the "clasp" of a halter neck in back (small/large/small), and a decoration at center back (large), as well as buttons on the sleeves of a 30's evening gown.

I really recommend you give some thought to using these bracelets! They offer a huge variety in texture and color, and some are not really expensive (remember, that's 15 'buttons' for $12!)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
els said...
Great tip, thanks.
10/18/03 3:06 PM
Snowblossom said...
Good idea! You could probably find similar "buttons" individually at a bead store, probably a little more expensive per piece, but worth a try...
10/19/03 2:42 AM
sewserious1 said...
Try Michael's or Hobby Lobby for individual 'jewelry" findings such as these. The prices are usually pretty good, especially if you find a sale!
10/20/03 6:37 PM
lhstitcher said...
What a great idea! Those always catch my eye when in stores, but seemed a little too much sparkle in one shot, breaking them up would lend them to many more uses!
10/21/03 2:54 PM
KMangum said...
Yep, I'm well acquainted with my local Michael's, and the bead stores. Michael's jewelry findings are not nearly as "robustly made" as the bracelet chunks, which are usually 'double layered'. -- I also bought several metal-medallion belts at $5/ea. to break up and sew onto the neckline of a fantasy costume. These pieces are much larger - 2"x3" - and will become a jewelled "collar". Don't be afraid to use pliers on *anything* :)
10/21/03 5:02 PM
jamie said...
Great idea for the upcming Christmas seaon. Thanks!
11/19/03 5:59 PM
Deepika said...
What a cool idea! I just bought a single rhinestone button from MJ Trim for $9!!!
11/19/03 9:29 PM
casey said...
don't forget your local thrift store They have a seperate jewelry case ,it is not all junk many pieces can be taken apart especially longdangly earings and necklaces.
1/24/04 11:22 PM
Annette H said...
What a wonderful idea - this is really imaginative thinking. Must try to think laterally ...
3/9/04 3:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.