SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Home Made Cutting Table

Viewed 5689 times
Posted by: heathergwo
photo

 
 
About heathergwo
CA USA
Member since: 11/14/11
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 14 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/27/11 3:29 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
I started using a card table with a cardboard cutting layout on top. But my back was KILLING me with leaning over that to pin everything. My roommate (an engineer) devised a way so I could bring up the table top to my desired height (I'm about 5'9"). He bought PVC tubing and had it cut to the right height, plus the caps that go on the bottom and 4 screw clamps. So he slid the PVC onto the legs of the card table, placed a clamp at the top to tighten it around the top of the leg and placed the cap on the bottom. Then I adjusted it to my personal height (right about waist level) and tightened the clamps. Now I have a perfectly sized custom made cutting table! It cost about $10 or less for the PVC & clamps. It isn't especially pretty, but it works and my back is now pain free!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
AJBBOWMAN said...
Love it!
4/3/12 4:56 PM
AJBBOWMAN said...
Love it!
4/3/12 4:56 PM
KraftouchTreasures said...
Thats a very helpful tip. I could use one of this.
12/28/11 8:50 PM
monijo said...
Now that I will be spending more time in the United States, I'll need a cutting table over there. The one I have here in Nigeria was custom made to my height. It's good to know that I can easily get the same thing at home by lining up two or three card tables. Thanks.
12/3/11 6:06 PM
derbymomma said...
I painted a hollow interior door and laid it atop 2 bookshelves for my cutting table--all stuff we had on hand. It makes a great surface to spread things out on.
12/1/11 7:02 PM
Ruthies said...
That sounds like a fantastic idea!
11/29/11 3:13 PM
happytobehere said...
Great idea!
11/28/11 10:37 AM
JEF said...
Great tip!
11/28/11 9:39 AM
deesews said...
Very cool! Thanks for sharing. Isn't it great to have an engineer around? Do you think you could take a closeup of the clamp part for us?
11/28/11 0:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.