SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Uber Smart Digital Pattern Organization with OneNote

Viewed 5521 times
Posted by: ChantillyDreams
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ChantillyDreams
NY United States
Member since: 11/26/11
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/10/11 9:16 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Web site/URL: photo
An update:
After pondering the many ways I could organize my pattern stash, I realized that using Microsoft's OneNote would be a great solution! I created two notebooks, one for patterns, and another for fabric so I can open both windows side by side whilst planning my next sewing project. I set up the notebook with pattern category tabs such as dresses, tops, pants, etc.. Cataloging the info for the patterns has been simple and relatively quick. Once I find the pattern online by using the pattern maker sites (I'm a member of ClubBMV) I simply right click on the pattern jacket, back cover with yardage, line art, etc., and click "Add to One Note." The page is then added to my notebook in a flash. The beautiful thing about OneNote is that it indexes it's contents so the notebook is searchable by keyword. For instance, if I want to find all of my dress patterns that are suitable for knits, I can search for dresses, knits, and wahlah they appear!!! Uber smart! Plus, I can print the notebook if I desire. I also saved it as a .pdf, which I then imported to my Droid phone so that my whole collection is handy when I shop for fabric, etc..
You can read more about this tip and see a screenshot on my blog http://www.sewphisticatedlady.com

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
EnloeNurse said...
A great idea, thanks
12/11/11 0:19 AM
Patti B said...
Clever!
12/11/11 9:10 AM
quathy said...
I love OneNote, too, but haven't used in on my Droid because you can't sync like you can with a MS phone... I hadn't thought of using the .pdf feature! Super idea!
12/11/11 11:25 PM
Sharon Rose said...
WOW! This is, without a doubt, one of the best tips I have ever read. I have a ton of patterns and all are stored in boxes which makes reviewing them a time-consuming task. And it seems I will invariably be shopping, locate a beautiful piece of fabraic, and not know how much to purchase...which usually results in a cautionary, too much. I have the One Note on my computer, but had not explored it. I definnitely will, now. And I am buying myself a Droid phone for Christmas, so the suggestion of how to use this info with that comes at a timely date. This will save me gobs of time snce I won't have to rummage through my files of patterns that are stored in boxes like I have done in the past. The old saying of "2 heads are better than one" sure applies here. Thank you for sharing. Have a blessed Christmas.
12/12/11 8:58 AM
Pj3g said...
OK, I am technically challenged so don't understand your tip but after checking your blog, I have to tell you I love your sewing room and your dogs are too cute!!! Bet it's wonderful to come home and be greeted by those 3!
12/14/11 4:34 PM
bconky said...
Thanks great idea
12/15/11 2:17 PM
ChantillyDreams said...
Thanks so much for all the nice feedback. Glad the tip helped! For me it's a Godsend. Happy sewing!
1/29/12 11:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.