SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Rolled Hem Made SUPER Easy!

Viewed 5641 times
Posted by: heathergwo
photo

 
 
About heathergwo
CA USA
Member since: 11/14/11
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 14 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/14/11 9:05 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people   Very Helpful by 31 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Go to the Simplicity 2634 top to see the rolled hem.

Probably a million people have already figured this out, but thought I'd share. I was playing around today... I'd finished my blouse except the bottom hem and was trying to figure out the best way to finish it. I played with the blind hem on both my machine & serger. I tried using my rolled hem (hemmer) foot. I tried rolling after I'd serged, etc etc etc for about 2-3 hours. Finally I found it... the perfect rolled hem! Serge the bottom with a 3 thread overlock stitch. Then move over to the sewing machine and fold over twice and use a straight stitch. This gives the perfect rolled hem w/o having to use the iron or a hem measurer or pins or anything. Because the serger provides such a uniform bottom, just folding that over once and then once again to conceal the edges... you get a perfect fold that you can create as you sew in practically no time at all! This was a true AHA moment for me :-)

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Laramiesundancer said...
this is an amazing site. thanks so much for all the information. i have learned so very much and received help that i couldn't find elsewhere. gayle rush
3/26/12 9:36 AM
cpatton said...
Love it.Thanks
3/8/12 10:25 PM
MaggieMinnich said...
Excellent tip! Thank you. Any tips that make the sewing quicker, easier, and more painless is a bonus! I also checked out your other pictures and your bags and purses are beautiful. Love the fabrics you choose!
3/5/12 2:16 PM
Stephanie T said...
I tried this method on a prom dress and it worked fantastic thanks for your aha moment
2/10/12 3:55 PM
TwilightDancer said...
Thank you, I have a top in a basket just waiting for this tip.
1/2/12 2:46 PM
Sari said...
Yes, I found this out by accident, too! It's a great way to finish a hem.
12/29/11 10:31 AM
Sandra Mil said...
And now that you have shared it with us, we can all grow our knowledge base with your help! Thanks!
12/26/11 10:49 PM
rivergum said...
What a great idea! I have been making baby hems, but this sounds even easier. No need to cut close to the first line of stitching with scissors!
12/25/11 6:26 PM
LynnG said...
I'll definitely use this tip! Thanks!
12/15/11 10:07 AM
JEF said...
Great tip - thank you.
12/15/11 9:47 AM
Merry G said...
Ahhhaaaaa here tooooo
12/15/11 9:16 AM
Fran G said...
Sounds like a great technique! Thanks!
12/15/11 8:38 AM
Pj3g said...
Great tip!
12/15/11 7:34 AM
JodieT said...
Great idea, AHA for me too. Thanks for sharing.
12/15/11 0:30 AM
mssewcrazy said...
That is a nice hem. I enjoyed looking at your projects also while there. I have hemmed with one turn of a serger hem but haven't done twice so will try this. Thanks.
12/14/11 9:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

More Info
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.