SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Rolled Hem Made SUPER Easy!

Viewed 5543 times
Posted by: heathergwo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About heathergwo
CA USA
Member since: 11/14/11
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 14 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/14/11 9:05 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people   Very Helpful by 31 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Go to the Simplicity 2634 top to see the rolled hem.

Probably a million people have already figured this out, but thought I'd share. I was playing around today... I'd finished my blouse except the bottom hem and was trying to figure out the best way to finish it. I played with the blind hem on both my machine & serger. I tried using my rolled hem (hemmer) foot. I tried rolling after I'd serged, etc etc etc for about 2-3 hours. Finally I found it... the perfect rolled hem! Serge the bottom with a 3 thread overlock stitch. Then move over to the sewing machine and fold over twice and use a straight stitch. This gives the perfect rolled hem w/o having to use the iron or a hem measurer or pins or anything. Because the serger provides such a uniform bottom, just folding that over once and then once again to conceal the edges... you get a perfect fold that you can create as you sew in practically no time at all! This was a true AHA moment for me :-)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
mssewcrazy said...
That is a nice hem. I enjoyed looking at your projects also while there. I have hemmed with one turn of a serger hem but haven't done twice so will try this. Thanks.
12/14/11 9:19 PM
JodieT said...
Great idea, AHA for me too. Thanks for sharing.
12/15/11 0:30 AM
Pj3g said...
Great tip!
12/15/11 7:34 AM
Fran G said...
Sounds like a great technique! Thanks!
12/15/11 8:38 AM
Merry G said...
Ahhhaaaaa here tooooo
12/15/11 9:16 AM
JEF said...
Great tip - thank you.
12/15/11 9:47 AM
LynnG said...
I'll definitely use this tip! Thanks!
12/15/11 10:07 AM
rivergum said...
What a great idea! I have been making baby hems, but this sounds even easier. No need to cut close to the first line of stitching with scissors!
12/25/11 6:26 PM
Sandra Mil said...
And now that you have shared it with us, we can all grow our knowledge base with your help! Thanks!
12/26/11 10:49 PM
Sari said...
Yes, I found this out by accident, too! It's a great way to finish a hem.
12/29/11 10:31 AM
TwilightDancer said...
Thank you, I have a top in a basket just waiting for this tip.
1/2/12 2:46 PM
Stephanie T said...
I tried this method on a prom dress and it worked fantastic thanks for your aha moment
2/10/12 3:55 PM
MaggieMinnich said...
Excellent tip! Thank you. Any tips that make the sewing quicker, easier, and more painless is a bonus! I also checked out your other pictures and your bags and purses are beautiful. Love the fabrics you choose!
3/5/12 2:16 PM
cpatton said...
Love it.Thanks
3/8/12 10:25 PM
Laramiesundancer said...
this is an amazing site. thanks so much for all the information. i have learned so very much and received help that i couldn't find elsewhere. gayle rush
3/26/12 9:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.