SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Rolled Hem Made SUPER Easy!

Viewed 5640 times
Posted by: heathergwo
photo

 
 
About heathergwo
CA USA
Member since: 11/14/11
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 14 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/14/11 9:05 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people   Very Helpful by 31 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Go to the Simplicity 2634 top to see the rolled hem.

Probably a million people have already figured this out, but thought I'd share. I was playing around today... I'd finished my blouse except the bottom hem and was trying to figure out the best way to finish it. I played with the blind hem on both my machine & serger. I tried using my rolled hem (hemmer) foot. I tried rolling after I'd serged, etc etc etc for about 2-3 hours. Finally I found it... the perfect rolled hem! Serge the bottom with a 3 thread overlock stitch. Then move over to the sewing machine and fold over twice and use a straight stitch. This gives the perfect rolled hem w/o having to use the iron or a hem measurer or pins or anything. Because the serger provides such a uniform bottom, just folding that over once and then once again to conceal the edges... you get a perfect fold that you can create as you sew in practically no time at all! This was a true AHA moment for me :-)

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Laramiesundancer said...
this is an amazing site. thanks so much for all the information. i have learned so very much and received help that i couldn't find elsewhere. gayle rush
3/26/12 9:36 AM
cpatton said...
Love it.Thanks
3/8/12 10:25 PM
MaggieMinnich said...
Excellent tip! Thank you. Any tips that make the sewing quicker, easier, and more painless is a bonus! I also checked out your other pictures and your bags and purses are beautiful. Love the fabrics you choose!
3/5/12 2:16 PM
Stephanie T said...
I tried this method on a prom dress and it worked fantastic thanks for your aha moment
2/10/12 3:55 PM
TwilightDancer said...
Thank you, I have a top in a basket just waiting for this tip.
1/2/12 2:46 PM
Sari said...
Yes, I found this out by accident, too! It's a great way to finish a hem.
12/29/11 10:31 AM
Sandra Mil said...
And now that you have shared it with us, we can all grow our knowledge base with your help! Thanks!
12/26/11 10:49 PM
rivergum said...
What a great idea! I have been making baby hems, but this sounds even easier. No need to cut close to the first line of stitching with scissors!
12/25/11 6:26 PM
LynnG said...
I'll definitely use this tip! Thanks!
12/15/11 10:07 AM
JEF said...
Great tip - thank you.
12/15/11 9:47 AM
Merry G said...
Ahhhaaaaa here tooooo
12/15/11 9:16 AM
Fran G said...
Sounds like a great technique! Thanks!
12/15/11 8:38 AM
Pj3g said...
Great tip!
12/15/11 7:34 AM
JodieT said...
Great idea, AHA for me too. Thanks for sharing.
12/15/11 0:30 AM
mssewcrazy said...
That is a nice hem. I enjoyed looking at your projects also while there. I have hemmed with one turn of a serger hem but haven't done twice so will try this. Thanks.
12/14/11 9:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

More Info
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.