SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > A Clean Iron

Viewed 5529 times
Posted by: Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywin starstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 274
Favored by: 122 people
tips added: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/31/11 0:12 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 29 people   
My iron gets gunked up easily because in addition to my sewing, my daughter starches her work shirts every day and the starch builds up quickly on the iron. I have used a variety of different methods to try to keep my iron clean, but it seems that the best I had tried so far (until now) was the Rowenta iron cleaner. Although convenient, it is very expensive - even with a 40% of coupon. So, I decided to Google and You Tube a "clean iron" search. I tried a few different things, but the absolute best (and easiest) is this. I also have used this method on both hot or cold iron and it works great!

I put a little baking soda in a small container and keep it in my sewing room. I also bought a small bottle of white vinegar that is kept just for the sewing room. Dip an old towel in the vinegar and then in the baking soda. Rub it gently over the iron and all the gunk will come off like magic! You may need to do this a few times or rub a little harder on any stubborn spots. After, you can just iron a clean spot on the towel, or wipe with a damp cloth to remove any vinegar or baking soda that remains.

This is MUCH cheaper than commercial cleaners, does not involve any chemicals, is easy to use, and works BETTER than the commercial cleaners. Give it a try!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
dawn so cal said...
I just tried this, but it didn´t work for my burn spots. I guess that´s what they are (they´re black). No idea how they got there....
5/20/12 2:17 PM
Sarah Sew and Sew said...
This is exactly how my grandmother showed me about 47 years ago. Besides all the sizing and starch that accumulates on the outside of the iron, I have water that seems to gunk up the insides of my steam irons. Do you use distilled water?
1/10/12 3:16 PM
Pamela R said...
Thankyou, this is a great idea. Pam
1/2/12 2:52 PM
Karine said...
Thanks for the great tip! I will try it right away - just happen to have an iron in need!
1/1/12 2:01 PM
Sharon Rose said...
Interesting...I wonder why this works. Vinegar is an acid while baking soda is an alkaline. One usually balances out the other. Makes one doubt it has anything to do with a chemical reaction. Is it just the "grit" from the baking soda working as a scouring powder??? Be interesting to pursue an answer and introduce to the discussion thread.
1/1/12 11:24 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Oh thank you for the tip Nancy! I will definitely try this. That is WAY cheaper than the iron cleaner and I don't find that works very well either.
1/1/12 10:58 AM
Rebecca Szetela said...
What a great tip for the sewing room! Thanks for sharing. BTW vinegar and baking soda must be a "miracle two-some". They clean bathroom drains that are stopped up with soap scum and hair as well! Found that by doing an online search for "natural drain cleaners" since I dislike the nasty chemicals in the commercial drain cleaners!
1/1/12 10:12 AM
Merry G said...
Awesome tks
1/1/12 8:34 AM
happytobehere said...
I just run the hot iron over a dryer sheet and that usually does the job. Will try your method if this doesn't work. Thanks.
12/31/11 9:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.