SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Unconventional Mitered Binding

Viewed 5445 times
Posted by: stitchinjenny
photo

 
 
About stitchinjenny star
TX USA
Member since: 12/8/11
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/18/12 10:54 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I developed this technique after being inspired by an ancient sewing VHS I had seen years ago.

This is not the typical way to apply mitered binding to a project but it is sooo cool. You will get perfect results and won't have to hand sew the mitered corners shut.

This method can be used to bind a quilt, a wall hanging, a place mat, a Tablet Keeper, etc. - anything that needs a mitered corner.

Please click visit this URL to see more:
http://sewvacoutletblog.com/2012/01/18/my-beautiful-tablet-keeper/


(The link to my free mitering video tutorial is near the bottom of the blog post.)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Tarrbaby said...
Great technique!!! Wish I had this info when I made mitered corners binding a jacket, I got it done but this way is much easier.
1/19/12 8:06 AM
VivianZ said...
Great tip. Thanks for the video you created.
1/19/12 8:56 AM
elsew said...
Fantastic information in your video presentation. Cannot wait to try this one...I just finished binding a twin size quilt and this would have come in so handy.
1/19/12 9:48 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Cool, I'll bookmark this for the future. I like this method.
1/26/12 1:55 PM
Alice said...
Loved the video. I had saved a method by Margaret Islander but there was a lot of measuring involved and your's is so simple. If you only knew how I'd struggled with a trim on a jacket once, ripped so many times and ended up sewing it by hand. You're a cutie and I love your personality. Many thanks and great, clear shots, thanks hubby.
2/1/12 6:20 PM
Celticstitcher said...
fantastic - thank you, I am just about to make a baby play mat and this will finish it beautifully
2/6/12 7:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.