SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Unconventional Mitered Binding

Viewed 5531 times
Posted by: stitchinjenny
photo

 
 
About stitchinjenny star
TX USA
Member since: 12/8/11
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/18/12 10:54 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I developed this technique after being inspired by an ancient sewing VHS I had seen years ago.

This is not the typical way to apply mitered binding to a project but it is sooo cool. You will get perfect results and won't have to hand sew the mitered corners shut.

This method can be used to bind a quilt, a wall hanging, a place mat, a Tablet Keeper, etc. - anything that needs a mitered corner.

Please click visit this URL to see more:
http://sewvacoutletblog.com/2012/01/18/my-beautiful-tablet-keeper/


(The link to my free mitering video tutorial is near the bottom of the blog post.)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Celticstitcher said...
fantastic - thank you, I am just about to make a baby play mat and this will finish it beautifully
2/6/12 7:25 PM
Alice said...
Loved the video. I had saved a method by Margaret Islander but there was a lot of measuring involved and your's is so simple. If you only knew how I'd struggled with a trim on a jacket once, ripped so many times and ended up sewing it by hand. You're a cutie and I love your personality. Many thanks and great, clear shots, thanks hubby.
2/1/12 6:20 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Cool, I'll bookmark this for the future. I like this method.
1/26/12 1:55 PM
elsew said...
Fantastic information in your video presentation. Cannot wait to try this one...I just finished binding a twin size quilt and this would have come in so handy.
1/19/12 9:48 AM
VivianZ said...
Great tip. Thanks for the video you created.
1/19/12 8:56 AM
Tarrbaby said...
Great technique!!! Wish I had this info when I made mitered corners binding a jacket, I got it done but this way is much easier.
1/19/12 8:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

More Info
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.