SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Serging curves, not for the faint of heart!

Viewed 5666 times
Posted by: Debbi S
photo

 
 
About Debbi S star
OH USA
Member since: 6/27/09
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/5/12 6:00 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   

This one is going far beyond a simple technique, if you get in a couple of sentences and its too far out skip it and I wont blame you! lol.
I couldnt accept the problem of serging curves, especially tight inside or outside reversing patterns. I am using a singer 14u244 for this one. Heres what I saw the problems to be and and how they were fixed. Advanced mechanical skills are required, all changes reversible.
The first issue limitiing the ability to control the fabric is the distance from the knives to the needle, such a long path forces the material to go straight! For my changes to work you will need to scissor cut precisely the outline to be followed and drop or disable the knive. Now the issue is how to align the fabric edge to the stitch finger where the loops are formed. I made a vertical prong out of stiff wire that pokes up ahead of the stitch finger. This will act as a (bumper) seam guide that is as close to the needle as possible. This prong is held in place by the lower knife clamp.
I removed the front feed dog enitrely, the u 244 is a differential feed. This way only the rear dogs grip the fabric, allowing more control!
Finally, the presser foot was wedged or locked with the toe up so only the heel of the foot clamped the fabric to the rear feed dogs. This allows the fabric to move freely side to side under the toe while pivoting about the needle.
Now I can make beautiful curves with a radius of less than 3/4 of an inch on paper towels! I will try to upload photos later,,,,

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
solosmocker said...
I'm impressed. Don't understand a thing of what you did but I am impressed you made it work.
2/5/12 6:46 PM
neversews said...
How did you get the presser foot locked with the toe up? And can you put the front feed dogs back in when you want them? I don't have a singer maybe it is easier on this model? It does sound very impressive. I would be afraid I wouldn't remember how to put it back together. You know you should take pictures and suggest this to the the serger companies. Maybe they could make the front feed dogs lower? Then make an attachment for the guide. I really do think this is extremely clever that you engineered this!
2/5/12 7:39 PM
elsew said...
I'm with solosmocker on this one. My hubby is the mechanic in the family and I won't let him touch any of my machines! You, my friend, are a genius.
2/6/12 8:53 AM
Marcia R said...
yes, the photos would be very helpful and the technique sounds like an interesting approach.
2/6/12 9:56 AM
Merry G said...
awesome idea
2/6/12 5:58 PM
Pamela R said...
Thankyou, that is the best explanation of how to get the curves nice, that I have ever read. I am lookng forward to the pictures.
2/6/12 6:39 PM
wendyrb said...
Debbi, I am very eager to see photos of what you are describing. Sounds like you have found adventurous ways to conquer serging curves. Thanks, ~ Wendy ~
2/7/12 11:59 AM
mb230slk2000qazwsx said...
Please upload photos step by step Your idea is genius!
2/9/12 10:44 PM
mb230slk2000qazwsx said...
Please upload photos step by step Your idea is genius!
2/9/12 10:45 PM
JPForster said...
I've had an issue with serging curves - especially around inside armholes and down inside side seams. My sewing instructor was showing me how to finish off an inside seam and ... lo and behold, SHE cut into my jacket using the serger. Then I was left to try to fix! I would really appreciate photos illustrating your technique!
2/10/12 7:09 AM
raggmopp said...
wow!!very intriguing--(I agree with elsew--you are a genius ;o) I follow (sorta) what you did but can't visualize all of it especially how you keep the front toe of the presser foot raised and still allow space for the fabric to pass under the rear of the foot. Also, how complicated is it to "remove" the front feed dogs? I have limited "surgical skills".
2/10/12 11:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.