Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Thread/Bobbin Storage (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5730 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
Posted by: Pj3g
photo
Friend of PR
About Pj3g star
WI USA
Member since: 2/14/11
Reviews written: 39
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/19/12 11:15 PM
Last Updated: 5/10/13 2:52 PM
Web site/URL: photo
Somewhere I heard or read a tip about pipe cleaners for thread/bobbin storage long ago. I've searched for hours in my sewing books and on PR in order to give that peson credit but I can't locate it. I've expanded on that idea by using shallow boxes for storage and sorting the threads/bobbins by colors

This is such a great idea and stress reliever so I am adding it now because it deserves attention.

One thing that aggravates me with sewing is finding the bobbin that matches the color or type of thread on a spool. This problem compounds when you have multiple SM's which use different sizes of bobbins. So to keep spools and bobbins together you simply insert a pipe cleaner through the spool of thread and bobbin(s) and bend the end of the pipe cleaner over the ends. This holds them together. The pipe cleaners can be snipped to shorten to fit your needs. Pipe cleaners are so inexpensive too--much cheaper than all the other notions they sell to keep bobbins with thread spools! And another great benefit is that if your thread label comes lose, it stays with the spool and bobbins so you always know what kind of thread it is!

I use shallow boxes and sort my threads by colors. Using shallow boxes keeps it all easy to see what you have and because you can see it all you don't have to dig around to find what you want--therefore you don't get all the tangled mess.

So to whoever you are that I heard about pipe cleaners from I thank you from the bottom of my heart! I have had my threads like this for at least a year and I love this system! No more aggravation!

FYI: I bought the pipe cleaners at JoAnn's. I bought white but they come in colors too.
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sewnforever said...
Off to the tobacconist!
3/20/12 3:32 AM
Tangled Threads said...
Thanks for tips about pipe cleaners -so obvious, I should've thought of that one years ago!!
3/20/12 6:11 AM
marec said...
Brilliant! Thanks so much.
3/20/12 10:47 AM
annsew65 said...
This is exactly how I keep bobbins and thread together! Great minds..............!
3/21/12 1:19 AM
A of the M's said...
So simple, yet so brilliant! I have been trying various methods for thread storage and this is the one I want to try and I know I will love it. Great tip!
3/23/12 7:55 AM
Mrs4Him said...
I have seen pipe cleaners at the Dollar Tree recently for those who have that store in your area. Very good tip!
3/24/12 2:56 PM
Mc Donna said...
Hmmn...multiple machines? I think you're in just the right place! Thanks for the brilliant tip. Off to the dollar store.
4/10/12 10:00 PM
Cross stitch said...
I have used pipe cleaners for years (could I have been the one who told you about them?) but I only use them when I have more than two matching bobbins or a spool that won't use a Handi-bob. Handi-bobs are best thing I have ever seen to store thread with matching bobbin. Don't buy them on a card -- buy a big handful on ebay or Amazon. Here's a description and photo: http://www.ebay.com/itm/20-Handi-Bobs-Bobbin-Holder-Organizer-Sewing-Machine-Singer-Brother-Kenmore-/380419871489?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item5892ca9301 The other thing I do to keep sane (in the thread department) is to keep all neutrals in the top drawer of my sewing table. This is where the light is best and I can differentiate shades. All colors go on a large wall rack in ROYGBIV order (red-orange-yellow-green-blue-indigoi-violet). That's easiest for me.
4/20/12 5:25 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us