SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Thread/Bobbin Storage

Viewed 6441 times
Posted by: Pj3g
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Pj3g star
WI USA
Member since: 2/14/11
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/19/12 11:15 PM
Last Updated: 5/10/13 2:52 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Somewhere I heard or read a tip about pipe cleaners for thread/bobbin storage long ago. I've searched for hours in my sewing books and on PR in order to give that peson credit but I can't locate it. I've expanded on that idea by using shallow boxes for storage and sorting the threads/bobbins by colors

This is such a great idea and stress reliever so I am adding it now because it deserves attention.

One thing that aggravates me with sewing is finding the bobbin that matches the color or type of thread on a spool. This problem compounds when you have multiple SM's which use different sizes of bobbins. So to keep spools and bobbins together you simply insert a pipe cleaner through the spool of thread and bobbin(s) and bend the end of the pipe cleaner over the ends. This holds them together. The pipe cleaners can be snipped to shorten to fit your needs. Pipe cleaners are so inexpensive too--much cheaper than all the other notions they sell to keep bobbins with thread spools! And another great benefit is that if your thread label comes lose, it stays with the spool and bobbins so you always know what kind of thread it is!

I use shallow boxes and sort my threads by colors. Using shallow boxes keeps it all easy to see what you have and because you can see it all you don't have to dig around to find what you want--therefore you don't get all the tangled mess.

So to whoever you are that I heard about pipe cleaners from I thank you from the bottom of my heart! I have had my threads like this for at least a year and I love this system! No more aggravation!

FYI: I bought the pipe cleaners at JoAnn's. I bought white but they come in colors too.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Cross stitch said...
I have used pipe cleaners for years (could I have been the one who told you about them?) but I only use them when I have more than two matching bobbins or a spool that won't use a Handi-bob. Handi-bobs are best thing I have ever seen to store thread with matching bobbin. Don't buy them on a card -- buy a big handful on ebay or Amazon. Here's a description and photo: http://www.ebay.com/itm/20-Handi-Bobs-Bobbin-Holder-Organizer-Sewing-Machine-Singer-Brother-Kenmore-/380419871489?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item5892ca9301 The other thing I do to keep sane (in the thread department) is to keep all neutrals in the top drawer of my sewing table. This is where the light is best and I can differentiate shades. All colors go on a large wall rack in ROYGBIV order (red-orange-yellow-green-blue-indigoi-violet). That's easiest for me.
4/20/12 5:25 PM
Mc Donna said...
Hmmn...multiple machines? I think you're in just the right place! Thanks for the brilliant tip. Off to the dollar store.
4/10/12 10:00 PM
Mrs4Him said...
I have seen pipe cleaners at the Dollar Tree recently for those who have that store in your area. Very good tip!
3/24/12 2:56 PM
A of the M's said...
So simple, yet so brilliant! I have been trying various methods for thread storage and this is the one I want to try and I know I will love it. Great tip!
3/23/12 7:55 AM
annsew65 said...
This is exactly how I keep bobbins and thread together! Great minds..............!
3/21/12 1:19 AM
marec said...
Brilliant! Thanks so much.
3/20/12 10:47 AM
Tangled Threads said...
Thanks for tips about pipe cleaners -so obvious, I should've thought of that one years ago!!
3/20/12 6:11 AM
Sewnforever said...
Off to the tobacconist!
3/20/12 3:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.