SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Use a laser level to mark your hem

Viewed 5504 times
Posted by: Ripple Dandelion
photo

 
 
About Ripple Dandelion star
NC USA
Member since: 9/23/06
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/7/12 1:56 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 23 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Simply set up the level on a stool or other item of appropriate height, stand next to it, and turn slowly as your cooperative partner inserts pins (or makes marks) on the bright shiny line.

Using a tool like this might get your husband or boyfriend on board with marking a hem. It's like carpentry! Plus, it's quite a bit more accurate than holding a yardstick on the floor, since it's difficult to always hold the yardstick at a perfect ninety degree angle to the floor.

Hope you enjoy this easy way to level your hem!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Lalena said...
What a clever idea!! Thanks for sharing--I would never have thought of this.
4/8/12 8:17 AM
koo104 said...
Bravo!!!!!
4/8/12 12:15 PM
Pam Padilla said...
Great hint. Thanks for sharing your "out of the sewing room" thinking!
4/8/12 3:48 PM
lca said...
Wow, I have one of those, but never thought to use it for hemming! (Don't even remember why I bought it.) Brilliant idea!
4/9/12 3:04 PM
marec said...
Great idea...just brilliant.
4/12/12 10:18 AM
marycds said...
Brilliant!
4/14/12 0:05 AM
JPForster said...
Great tip - never would have thought of it. Kudos to you!
4/16/12 8:46 PM
Kirstenw said...
Thank you, wonderful hint
5/9/12 1:27 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Very clever, I would think almost any laser would do the trick, great idea!
5/18/12 2:56 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Very clever, I would think almost any laser would do the trick, great idea!
5/18/12 2:56 PM
tucsoncarol said...
Why did I not think of this? What a fabulous answer to a common problem. Creative thinking Ripple Dandelion, thanks.
9/2/12 4:44 PM
hence said...
WHAT A SUPER IDEA. THANKS
10/10/12 12:42 PM
LM2HYD said...
Now that is a good idea! I could get my kids to pin my hems using that!!
4/14/13 7:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.