Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Tracing patterns from Burda magazine (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5592 times
Review rated Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Posted by: eileen
photo
About eileen
IL USA
Member since: 10/17/03
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/27/03 3:26 PM
Well, I've tried it all with Burda magazines - tissue paper (too opaque and flimsy), newspaper (yes, my sister-in-law's mother in Brazil uses this method) - inexpensive but difficult to manage the carbon paper below.

My new method is kitchen waxed paper. It's easy to see through and sturdy. If you need a larger piece, just fuse two pieces together with a dry iron set on wool.
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Judy Williment said...
I use the non-waxed kind (easier to draw on) and just tape bits together. Love it, love it, love it!
10/27/03 3:39 PM
ladyneem said...
great idea, i've tried that method too and it really works
10/27/03 7:41 PM
KMangum said...
I use rolls of "sketch" paper from the art store. Comes in white or yellow, and in widths of 24 - 36 - 48" (I use 36"). It's crisp, easy to see thru, and easy to handle. Wax paper seems like a great improv. substitute!
10/28/03 1:52 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Thx for the tip! How is it for tissue fitting?
10/28/03 3:58 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
if you iron the wax paper to some fusible interfacing or something like the fusible paper then you can pin into it as much as needed. it makes it really sturdy.
10/29/03 10:34 AM
eileen said...
I've never tried sketch paper from the art store; I'll try it, too, as well as the interfacing bit. Waxed paper is good, but I did not tissue-fit it. I'm so terrible at tissue-fitting in general, that I just don't bother. It looks easy in books; but no matter what I do - I can't judge the fit from this paper attached to me. But I have to say -- I wish I found this website before. I never dreamed that other souls tried Burda magazine. I thought I was some odd creature of the deep or something. This is very exciting.
10/30/03 7:31 PM
patienthand said...
have you tried using sewr cloth, available at the local home store? Its cheap, see through, looks like pellon, doesnt stretch out of shape etc. You can buy it by the foot off a roll in varying widths. Look in the plumbing dept. I love it, works great, and is also great for coveing plants from frost, it breathes and is lightweight. HANDY STUFF!!!
10/31/03 10:49 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Patienthand is right about the sewer cloth. A lot of us have used it and reported on it as "soil separator", made by Cardiff. I couldn't find it at Home Depot, but Lowes carries it. It's very transparent, so it makes tracing quite easy. The same transparency, though, can be a problem when you lay your finished pattern down on white fabric; it just about disappears before aging eyes!
11/1/03 11:05 AM
patienthand said...
U use a dark marker when i trace and leave a smidge of the line so I can see it better. Red works well on darker colors. Candice
11/2/03 6:15 AM
eileen said...
I want to make sure I've got this right. Are you saying sewer cloth? What is it usually used for ... sewers? How much is it?
11/3/03 12:42 PM
Alice said...
I found that I could fuse those plastic bags from the dry cleaners to patterns. For a favorite I also fuse with fusable interfacing which I can buy for 33 cents a yd @ 60" wide here in Atlanta area.
11/3/03 2:52 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Yes...sewer, like septic tank. Not sewer, like us. Excerpt from Deepika's Notion review: It's basically used in septic systems. Carriff makes them: from their web site: Soil Separatorô Fabric is a durable and lightweight fabric to be used as a means of separating the gravel and soil backfill in a trench. This non-woven (spun bonded polypropylene) fabric exceeds all industry standards and weights a mere 0.5 ounces per square yard. This is really very lightweight and does not require ironing, but its very thin so be careful when tracing patterns with a marker cause the ink did seep through the fabric to the pattern tissue to my counter top.have to be careful. It costs under $30 for a 300ft roll. The one which I found is 24" wide but supposedly they come in various sizes from 24" to 48"!!! I got this from Lowes in the plumbing aisle.
11/3/03 7:01 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Eileen, here's a link to Carriff's website. http://www.carriff.com/products/products_soil.html I notice that they feature one item called sewing cloth, and I don't know if it's the same stuff as the soil separator or not. The soil separator cloth is available at Lowe's Home stores, and I doubt that Sewing Cloth is. Therefore, IMHO, Soil Separator cloth wins points for availability.
11/3/03 7:07 PM
GreekGirl said...
There's a "Pattern Paper" roll that Nancy's Notions, Clothilde, and probably others sell. apx 21" x 77 feet for about $6-$7. It's slightly transparent and works fine for Burda when you first outline pattern with marker.
11/14/03 3:46 AM
Bobbie Giam said...
Great tip. Thanks
11/14/03 12:59 PM
Trudy J said...
I bought a roll of 24" wide tracing paper, not sketch paper, at a good art supply store (Amsterdam Art in Berkeley, CA to be specific). It was relatively cheap for the amount I got, and seems to last forever. I use colored pencils or markers to trace.
12/1/03 9:03 PM
mommydionne said...
I use exam table paper (like at your doctors office) unfortunately they sell it by the case (12 rolls) if you had some friends to go in together it would be good. A roll lasts for a very very long time.
1/21/04 2:38 PM
Diana M said...
I recently tried 4 mil plastic by the roll -- love it for tracing and for cheaply available, but it's near impossible to pin through -- so, I've been painting rocks to use as weights. Just what I need another craft project . . . .
6/19/04 9:14 PM
Thunderpaws said...
If you check the SKU numbers at the Carriff web site, the show the sewing paper and soil separator paper tobe almost identical. I think they're probably the same thing - maybe just the wrapper is different?
7/14/04 2:53 PM
craftygamma said...
I don't know what took me so long to look at this knowledge thread, as tracing has become an expensive part of sewing for me with the tracing paper at the fabric stores costing $1.99 yard and only about 45" wide. I do a lot of tracing with 2 grandbabies to sew for who change sizes about every 6 months plus my daughter & myself. The tracing paper at the artist dept of Hobby Lobby costs $25 and the sheets are kind of small plus it is not real easy to see through for small markings like multi size patterns have. I am going to try the sewer paper. Thanks everyone for your comments.
12/8/08 7:40 AM
solosmocker said...
You may want to try Pattern Ease from Joanns. Its 60 wide and will be on sale for 50% off this upcoming weekend. I stock up whenever it does. It works the best for me.
12/8/08 10:51 PM
momma2many said...
I didnt even think of that thank you for the tip
3/24/09 0:37 AM
Lynn67 said...
Would never have thought of that and was wondering how to trace my 1st Burda pattern - glad I found this!
9/6/09 4:19 PM
tinaSA said...
great lateral idea to fuse using an iron!
4/28/10 3:47 PM
dmoe said...
This is a great idea!
6/12/10 7:46 PM
Elle.C. said...
There was a tip posted recently in Threads Magazine to use cheap plastic tablecloths from the dollar store. Cheap, very easy to find, durable, and really easy to see through. It's available in many light colors so your patterns could be pretty in pink, or yellow or blue etc.
7/2/10 8:25 AM
Elle.C. said...
Sorry posted comment twice! 8-)
7/2/10 8:25 AM
ArtAttack said...
I wondered if this would work...especially the width issue... so thanks! I'm gonna give it a try!
5/9/12 5:07 PM
chundy said...
what a good idea. Thanks so much
5/29/12 3:37 AM
Miss N said...
I love this method and use it all the time with my Kwik Sew patterns. I've always taped my wax paper together but can't wait to try fusing w/an iron. I like to use a tracing wheel to outline the size I'm cutting - cut with a small rotary cutter. Super quick! Pieces easily fit back in the envelope when I'm through.
9/27/12 8:26 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us