SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Tracing patterns from Burda magazine

Viewed 5898 times
Posted by: eileen
photo

 
 
About eileen
IL USA
Member since: 10/17/03
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/27/03 3:26 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Well, I've tried it all with Burda magazines - tissue paper (too opaque and flimsy), newspaper (yes, my sister-in-law's mother in Brazil uses this method) - inexpensive but difficult to manage the carbon paper below.

My new method is kitchen waxed paper. It's easy to see through and sturdy. If you need a larger piece, just fuse two pieces together with a dry iron set on wool.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


30 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Miss N said...
I love this method and use it all the time with my Kwik Sew patterns. I've always taped my wax paper together but can't wait to try fusing w/an iron. I like to use a tracing wheel to outline the size I'm cutting - cut with a small rotary cutter. Super quick! Pieces easily fit back in the envelope when I'm through.
9/27/12 8:26 PM
chundy said...
what a good idea. Thanks so much
5/29/12 3:37 AM
ArtAttack said...
I wondered if this would work...especially the width issue... so thanks! I'm gonna give it a try!
5/9/12 5:07 PM
Elle.C. said...
Sorry posted comment twice! 8-)
7/2/10 8:25 AM
Elle.C. said...
There was a tip posted recently in Threads Magazine to use cheap plastic tablecloths from the dollar store. Cheap, very easy to find, durable, and really easy to see through. It's available in many light colors so your patterns could be pretty in pink, or yellow or blue etc.
7/2/10 8:25 AM
dmoe said...
This is a great idea!
6/12/10 7:46 PM
tinaSA said...
great lateral idea to fuse using an iron!
4/28/10 3:47 PM
Lynn67 said...
Would never have thought of that and was wondering how to trace my 1st Burda pattern - glad I found this!
9/6/09 4:19 PM
momma2many said...
I didnt even think of that thank you for the tip
3/24/09 0:37 AM
solosmocker said...
You may want to try Pattern Ease from Joanns. Its 60 wide and will be on sale for 50% off this upcoming weekend. I stock up whenever it does. It works the best for me.
12/8/08 10:51 PM
craftygamma said...
I don't know what took me so long to look at this knowledge thread, as tracing has become an expensive part of sewing for me with the tracing paper at the fabric stores costing $1.99 yard and only about 45" wide. I do a lot of tracing with 2 grandbabies to sew for who change sizes about every 6 months plus my daughter & myself. The tracing paper at the artist dept of Hobby Lobby costs $25 and the sheets are kind of small plus it is not real easy to see through for small markings like multi size patterns have. I am going to try the sewer paper. Thanks everyone for your comments.
12/8/08 7:40 AM
Thunderpaws said...
If you check the SKU numbers at the Carriff web site, the show the sewing paper and soil separator paper tobe almost identical. I think they're probably the same thing - maybe just the wrapper is different?
7/14/04 2:53 PM
Diana M said...
I recently tried 4 mil plastic by the roll -- love it for tracing and for cheaply available, but it's near impossible to pin through -- so, I've been painting rocks to use as weights. Just what I need another craft project . . . .
6/19/04 9:14 PM
mommydionne said...
I use exam table paper (like at your doctors office) unfortunately they sell it by the case (12 rolls) if you had some friends to go in together it would be good. A roll lasts for a very very long time.
1/21/04 2:38 PM
Trudy J said...
I bought a roll of 24" wide tracing paper, not sketch paper, at a good art supply store (Amsterdam Art in Berkeley, CA to be specific). It was relatively cheap for the amount I got, and seems to last forever. I use colored pencils or markers to trace.
12/1/03 9:03 PM
Bobbie Giam said...
Great tip. Thanks
11/14/03 12:59 PM
GreekGirl said...
There's a "Pattern Paper" roll that Nancy's Notions, Clothilde, and probably others sell. apx 21" x 77 feet for about $6-$7. It's slightly transparent and works fine for Burda when you first outline pattern with marker.
11/14/03 3:46 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Eileen, here's a link to Carriff's website. http://www.carriff.com/products/products_soil.html I notice that they feature one item called sewing cloth, and I don't know if it's the same stuff as the soil separator or not. The soil separator cloth is available at Lowe's Home stores, and I doubt that Sewing Cloth is. Therefore, IMHO, Soil Separator cloth wins points for availability.
11/3/03 7:07 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Yes...sewer, like septic tank. Not sewer, like us. Excerpt from Deepika's Notion review: It's basically used in septic systems. Carriff makes them: from their web site: Soil Separatorô Fabric is a durable and lightweight fabric to be used as a means of separating the gravel and soil backfill in a trench. This non-woven (spun bonded polypropylene) fabric exceeds all industry standards and weights a mere 0.5 ounces per square yard. This is really very lightweight and does not require ironing, but its very thin so be careful when tracing patterns with a marker cause the ink did seep through the fabric to the pattern tissue to my counter top.have to be careful. It costs under $30 for a 300ft roll. The one which I found is 24" wide but supposedly they come in various sizes from 24" to 48"!!! I got this from Lowes in the plumbing aisle.
11/3/03 7:01 PM
Alice said...
I found that I could fuse those plastic bags from the dry cleaners to patterns. For a favorite I also fuse with fusable interfacing which I can buy for 33 cents a yd @ 60" wide here in Atlanta area.
11/3/03 2:52 PM
eileen said...
I want to make sure I've got this right. Are you saying sewer cloth? What is it usually used for ... sewers? How much is it?
11/3/03 12:42 PM
patienthand said...
U use a dark marker when i trace and leave a smidge of the line so I can see it better. Red works well on darker colors. Candice
11/2/03 6:15 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Patienthand is right about the sewer cloth. A lot of us have used it and reported on it as "soil separator", made by Cardiff. I couldn't find it at Home Depot, but Lowes carries it. It's very transparent, so it makes tracing quite easy. The same transparency, though, can be a problem when you lay your finished pattern down on white fabric; it just about disappears before aging eyes!
11/1/03 11:05 AM
patienthand said...
have you tried using sewr cloth, available at the local home store? Its cheap, see through, looks like pellon, doesnt stretch out of shape etc. You can buy it by the foot off a roll in varying widths. Look in the plumbing dept. I love it, works great, and is also great for coveing plants from frost, it breathes and is lightweight. HANDY STUFF!!!
10/31/03 10:49 PM
eileen said...
I've never tried sketch paper from the art store; I'll try it, too, as well as the interfacing bit. Waxed paper is good, but I did not tissue-fit it. I'm so terrible at tissue-fitting in general, that I just don't bother. It looks easy in books; but no matter what I do - I can't judge the fit from this paper attached to me. But I have to say -- I wish I found this website before. I never dreamed that other souls tried Burda magazine. I thought I was some odd creature of the deep or something. This is very exciting.
10/30/03 7:31 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
if you iron the wax paper to some fusible interfacing or something like the fusible paper then you can pin into it as much as needed. it makes it really sturdy.
10/29/03 10:34 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Thx for the tip! How is it for tissue fitting?
10/28/03 3:58 PM
KMangum said...
I use rolls of "sketch" paper from the art store. Comes in white or yellow, and in widths of 24 - 36 - 48" (I use 36"). It's crisp, easy to see thru, and easy to handle. Wax paper seems like a great improv. substitute!
10/28/03 1:52 PM
ladyneem said...
great idea, i've tried that method too and it really works
10/27/03 7:41 PM
Judy Williment said...
I use the non-waxed kind (easier to draw on) and just tape bits together. Love it, love it, love it!
10/27/03 3:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

More Info
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.