SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Thread storage

Viewed 7018 times
Posted by: Dot
photo

 
 
About Dot
SC USA
Member since: 1/18/03
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/4/03 6:47 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I know the tip about "match box" car cases has been posted before, but I would like to add to this. I have used the cases for several years to store my embroidery thread - a perfect fit. After being so unorganized with my sewing thread, I knew there had to be a better way. Car cases to the rescue! Each case has 48 "compartments" which will hold a spool of thread AND the matching bobbin. I arrange these by color, starting with the darkest thread and working my way down to the lightest. Now there is no more searching for the right color thread. A quick glance at the cases and I can find the perfect thread and bobbin. What a time saver. Hope this is helpful.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Texas Bonnet said...
I have never heard of match car cases used for thread storage. What a wonderful idea. Thank you.
2/11/12 8:12 AM
jeannemarie1 said...
i have quite a few embroidery threads, like over 100, what do i do then?
11/16/11 11:58 AM
Lindal010101 said...
Great idea. I've been buying all types of storage containers only to end up frustrated. I just went out and bought one of the car storage boxes and I can put the bobbin in the same slot as the thread. If it's a regular size spool, can fit 2 in one slot. Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!
1/11/04 2:34 PM
amyf said...
I'm going to put this on my shopping list for my next trip to Walmart -- thanks!
11/17/03 1:54 PM
Deepika said...
Asa ask him to look for it in the toys aisle where all the hotwheels are. If its not in the last shelf then look on the top most.
11/10/03 10:03 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Thanks Deepika! My dad is going to the US next week, so I'll send him to Walmart to get one for me :)
11/10/03 2:46 AM
Deepika said...
Yes this thing is really handy. I use this for my thread too. This way the thread is portable and doesnt get dirty as well. Debe posted this in the Sewing Notion Review Section. Here's A PHOTO
11/7/03 6:11 AM
Dot said...
Sorry I don't have a picture. It is called a "car garage" and is located on the toy aisle ( I know in Walmart) in the car and truck section. It is plastic, about 13 x 10, opens from both sides and has 48 compartments. They sell for $4.88 each in my area.
11/6/03 9:22 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Dot, do you have a picture of this? I'm not familiar with the product... and I do need a better way to store thread!
11/5/03 3:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

More Info
WhatNots

WhatNots

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.