SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Thread storage

Viewed 6634 times
Posted by: Dot
photo

 
 
About Dot
SC USA
Member since: 1/18/03
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/4/03 6:47 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I know the tip about "match box" car cases has been posted before, but I would like to add to this. I have used the cases for several years to store my embroidery thread - a perfect fit. After being so unorganized with my sewing thread, I knew there had to be a better way. Car cases to the rescue! Each case has 48 "compartments" which will hold a spool of thread AND the matching bobbin. I arrange these by color, starting with the darkest thread and working my way down to the lightest. Now there is no more searching for the right color thread. A quick glance at the cases and I can find the perfect thread and bobbin. What a time saver. Hope this is helpful.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Asa Hagstrom said...
Dot, do you have a picture of this? I'm not familiar with the product... and I do need a better way to store thread!
11/5/03 3:00 AM
Dot said...
Sorry I don't have a picture. It is called a "car garage" and is located on the toy aisle ( I know in Walmart) in the car and truck section. It is plastic, about 13 x 10, opens from both sides and has 48 compartments. They sell for $4.88 each in my area.
11/6/03 9:22 PM
Deepika said...
Yes this thing is really handy. I use this for my thread too. This way the thread is portable and doesnt get dirty as well. Debe posted this in the Sewing Notion Review Section. Here's A PHOTO
11/7/03 6:11 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Thanks Deepika! My dad is going to the US next week, so I'll send him to Walmart to get one for me :)
11/10/03 2:46 AM
Deepika said...
Asa ask him to look for it in the toys aisle where all the hotwheels are. If its not in the last shelf then look on the top most.
11/10/03 10:03 PM
amyf said...
I'm going to put this on my shopping list for my next trip to Walmart -- thanks!
11/17/03 1:54 PM
Lindal010101 said...
Great idea. I've been buying all types of storage containers only to end up frustrated. I just went out and bought one of the car storage boxes and I can put the bobbin in the same slot as the thread. If it's a regular size spool, can fit 2 in one slot. Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!
1/11/04 2:34 PM
jeannemarie1 said...
i have quite a few embroidery threads, like over 100, what do i do then?
11/16/11 11:58 AM
Texas Bonnet said...
I have never heard of match car cases used for thread storage. What a wonderful idea. Thank you.
2/11/12 8:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.