SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Threading machine needles

Viewed 5158 times
Posted by: GorgeousFabrics
photo

 
 
About GorgeousFabrics starstarstarstar
Member since: 8/12/02
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 254 people
tips added: 23
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/12/03 1:48 PM
Last Updated: 5/30/14 9:36 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Fusce massa dui, blandit eu erat eget, luctus imperdiet velit. Sed ac fringilla velit, quis varius nunc. Sed ac interdum neque, iaculis malesuada lacus. Suspendisse mollis porttitor arcu quis mattis. In vitae eros felis. Nunc pharetra ac mauris interdum interdum. Nullam vitae augue et diam pretium mattis ac vitae mi. Fusce at tempus magna, vitae interdum est. Curabitur convallis varius lacus. Cras varius luctus augue, et faucibus ligula tincidunt nec. Fusce id porta dui. Etiam tristique velit tortor, at aliquam mauris feugiat sit amet. Proin quis leo imperdiet nunc sodales consequat ac nec ipsum. Donec iaculis, risus eu porttitor rhoncus, ipsum lectus lacinia urna, vel facilisis libero turpis in turpis.

Vestibulum ac urna at odio commodo mattis et eu sapien. Fusce volutpat ornare ipsum, at pulvinar justo elementum vitae. Morbi congue eget nunc eu iaculis. Cras faucibus nulla non dui molestie placerat. Quisque vestibulum faucibus dui, ac malesuada felis. In hac habitasse platea dictumst. Etiam pretium nisl neque, vitae pharetra mi consectetur ut. Nulla molestie enim quis mattis dapibus. Ut luctus placerat lectus, at vehicula augue dignissim et. Morbi luctus aliquet sagittis. Cras nec lacus non ligula malesuada hendrerit. Donec eu diam orci. Ut euismod nec est at tincidunt.

Praesent porta urna id vulputate feugiat. Donec id porttitor justo. Nam a elementum massa. In venenatis turpis quis tellus malesuada suscipit. Phasellus ultricies placerat lorem ac consequat. Praesent imperdiet semper erat, eget pharetra arcu aliquet eget. Nam eget lacus eget felis luctus sodales molestie at augue. In ullamcorper turpis vel molestie pretium. Vestibulum fermentum, metus at mollis tristique, ligula dolor rhoncus neque, ut volutpat tellus arcu id lacus. Pellentesque varius posuere dui malesuada dapibus.

In hac habitasse platea dictumst. Nunc mauris lectus, viverra ut pellentesque at, mollis varius orci. Donec id imperdiet massa, non facilisis velit. Sed et dui sit amet metus pellentesque placerat in vel ligula. Cras suscipit felis sed tellus tempus porttitor. Donec cursus leo massa, vitae faucibus sapien congue id. Ut lobortis justo odio, vitae imperdiet augue molestie eget. Pellentesque habitant morbi tristique senectus et netus et malesuada fames ac turpis egestas. Duis semper scelerisque tempus.

Donec eget nibh odio. Duis magna felis, pulvinar ut tincidunt ac, dictum sit amet dolor. Maecenas a nisl justo. Maecenas convallis diam sit amet est aliquam, at viverra justo cursus. Duis fringilla sem metus, quis consectetur odio pharetra at. Morbi sit amet placerat quam. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus. Morbi in viverra nisl, nec lobortis diam. Sed consequat tempus purus, non ullamcorper magna accumsan consectetur. Vestibulum a sapien malesuada, ultrices dolor eu, mattis magna. Vestibulum venenatis nisl condimentum magna ultricies pulvinar. Phasellus lacinia odio massa, a tincidunt arcu aliquet et. Curabitur vehicula libero quis pharetra suscipit. Integer volutpat neque quis tortor facilisis, sed sagittis arcu tempus.

Vivamus et faucibus sapien, vel aliquam leo. Aenean id arcu a mauris pharetra tincidunt. Maecenas suscipit et neque ut viverra. Phasellus eget bibendum tellus, sit amet dignissim lacus. Sed ac varius.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Yes Ann, I do it all the time!
11/12/03 2:34 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I read a tip a few years ago (in Threads, maybe?) that said to push the tip of the thread against the needle and then lower it toward the eye, where it will "automatically" pop through. I've had a little success with this method, but I'll bet that combined with Ann's tip, it would work beautifully. These aging eyes need all the help they can get. Thanks, Ann.
11/13/03 6:26 AM
Patti B said...
I haven't tried Ann's method yet but I have to recommend the Elna Amazing Needle Threader at Clotilde (or your local sewing shop). I got one when I bought my serger -- love it! My new sewing machine has a threader (hooray) but I use this all the time on the serger and on my old sewing machine. It's mah-va-lous!
11/13/03 9:14 AM
Sew it seams said...
I do this too, Ann. Also, if you hold a small piece of white paper (or anything white) behind the needle, you can see the hole a lot easier. I use the white plastic tool used to crease fabric.
11/13/03 12:39 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Debe, that reminds me of something I heard or read somewhere... If you don't have a machine with a white shank (like a Viking), you can put a thin coat of White-Out on your shank to make it easier to see. -Ann
11/13/03 1:36 PM
KMangum said...
I've used this method for quite a while, and can't begin to remember what it was like "before". I wet my finger tip, pinch the end of the thread, and then rub the back of the needle eye. It's almost an automatic movement now.
11/15/03 5:40 PM
Mini said...
Thanks, Ann! It really works. I never knew about this, and I have been sewing for about a million years:).
11/16/03 9:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.