SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Class Reviews > Palmer Pletsch Fit Workshop

Oregon, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5477 times
Posted by: Mandolin82
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mandolin82 star
WA USA
Member since: 5/8/03
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
classes reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/12/03 7:17 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 23 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Is it possible to rate a workshop with 4 stars? 5 stars? It was an absolutely fantastic experience and SOOO worth the time and money spent.

This was wonderful workshop! It is located in Portland, Oregon and lasts 4 days. Marta Alto and Pati Palmer (who wrote Fit for Real People) teach the class - and not only are they knowledgeable and great teachers, they also are extremely nice and accessible. We had people from all over the country there for the class. I was very lucky, since I live in the NW and could stay with my sister in Portland.

The workshop is focused on fitting the upper body, and skirts, using the tissue fitting method described in the book. There is a separate workshop for fitting pants. The workshop started off with a brief slide show, but quickly moved to students working with tissue to determine their own sizes and fit issues. Each of us took turns being a model for the others as Pati and Marta used tissue fitting to determine what changes needed to be made to our patterns (bust enlargement, high round back, broad back, waist length, forward shoulder, etc.).

It was great to have these experts working with me to determine my own fit challenges and how to alter my patterns, but it was also extremely educational to see them do this for many other bodies - it really helped me understand how patterns work to fit on bodies. And it was very exciting to see people who had struggled with fit for years learning how to solve their fit challenges.

We spent the rest of the time learning how to alter patterns, both their basic fit pattern, and any fashion patterns we were interested in. Everyone worked hard for 4 days, and we were all exhausted - but I swear everyone was thrilled with what they were learning!

Besides the class (which is described quite well on the website) here are some thoughts and notes on other aspects of the class:

- it was so much fun meeting the other students. We had a blast - and socializing is usually not high on my agenda but everyone was so wonderful I couldn't help it.

- I wish I had taken the optional color analysis. Although I had my colors done years ago Ethel Harms, who does this, is marvelous and then took her students on a shopping trip through Fabric Depot (an amazing fabric store) helping them pick out fabrics. I'll have mine done next workshop!

- We finished the last day with a dinner at Pati Palmers home, a beautiful historic house in Portland. She is such a warm and gracious hostess.

- I stayed for an optional "Shop till you Drop" day, where Marta Alto took some of us on a tour of some of the really great fabric stores in Portland. We don't have anything like them in Seattle. I didn't appreciate it as much as I might have because I was so tired, but it was still great.

- I'm already figuring out which workshop to take next. At least two of my classmates were so excited about the fit workshop that they changed their plans to stay for the Pants Fit workshop.

- Many of my classmates were there for teacher training classes, so they now can go back and teach fit in their areas. So if any of you teach sewing for a living you might consider this.

Final Comment: Go to this workshop if you can!


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
kathi s said...
Marilyn Stanley, who teaches sewing in the Sacramento area, is a P&P certified teacher and recommends the class very highly. One of the other students in Marlyns class took the jacket class and raved about how wonderful it is. Its certainly on my list of "wannas".
11/12/03 8:06 PM
Mini said...
Thanks for the review. I was thinking about taking this class, but didn't have time this year. It sounds very worthwhile.
11/12/03 8:37 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Oh, you have me wanting to do this badly! I have always wanted to visit the NW.....
11/13/03 3:27 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
ENVY ENVY and more ENVY! I took three half day seminars from Pati in 2000 and have been wanting to go to Portland ever since. My husband is slowly moving me closer to the Pacific NW ... we used to be on the Atlantic seaboard but now am in the Prairies. Maybe next posting we will get to the West Coasst ...
11/13/03 4:16 PM
Joyfullife said...
I'm so glad to read this review. I actually live IN the Portland area and shop at Fabric Depot regularly. I don't have the money to attend right now, but some day.......
11/15/03 0:36 AM
Ruth C said...
If you live near Portland, this course is also offered as an evening course (1 nite a week for 4 weeks). I took it a couple years ago, because I was always disappointed in the fit of what I sewed--It opened my eyes to the changes that I have to make in patterns and, most important, taught me that it was okay to cut up patterns! Marta taught it, and I learned so much about sewing, not just fitting. Plus, one evening a month she is available to help graduates with specific patterns we are having trouble with.
11/17/03 8:19 PM
diane s said...
I also live near Portland and took Marta's 4 week class geared to the 'locals'. It was the best $$ I ever spent on sewing. Finally found out I was buying my patterns 2 sizes too big!!
1/19/04 3:53 PM
vespabelle said...
I am currently taking the locals version of this class (although 2 of my classmates drive 110 miles each way to get there!) and it super. Like Diane S, I found out I've been buying 2 or even 3 sizes too big! I've gained a LOT of confidence in this class. Marta is a great teacher. If you can take this class: DO IT!
10/10/06 6:33 PM
Sharp said...
I just finished the local evening version of this class--probably the best spent money in a long time. I'm a small person and fairly close to the patterns, but its those little adjustments that make all the difference in having a beautiful well fitting garment. And the bonus of being able to go once a month, well what can I say--I'm just waiting for the dates to be released so I can sign up for the next pant class (and the jacket class if they decide to go for it). Marta is an excellent teacher and you never feel dumb asking a question or for help in completing an alteration. So nice to have a teacher who knows her stuff and wants to share. If you haven't had this class--make the time, you won't regret it.
10/21/06 2:41 AM
Lou05 said...
This is my dream. I'm so glad you reviewed it. I live too far away for now but I'm trying to figure out how to do the expense of the workshop version. Thanks.
7/26/07 5:18 PM
darcidoodle said...
This class will change the way you sew. Seriously. I'm taking this workshop now (we're on night #2). Instead of the usual four jam-packed days of learnin', our class is doing it in four weeks with one class per week. If you can do your homework independently and live nearby, I'd HIGHLY recommend this class -- you just can't get better fit workshops than PalmerPletsch and Marta Alto is incredibly knowledgeable. I'm signed up for the pants class at the end of the month, too.
10/8/08 6:46 PM
KristenI said...
This is so worth it. I just took the 4 day workshop in Portland and it was a big eye opener. I altered 8 patterns and can't wait to sew them up. Do it if you can.
10/8/08 8:31 PM
cindy-lou said...
Thanks for this FANTASTIC review! I really, really want to go to P/P.
1/12/09 3:42 PM
Moxie Carol said...
I'm going to take this workshop this summer. I had a 1/2-day pant fit class with Marta last year and it started to open my eyes.
2/5/11 6:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.